¡campeones! – the game

Cesc and Xavi look like they’re going for a classic movie kiss, don’t they?

There’s not much I can write about the game to do it justice, so here are just a few moments that I remember.

Spain certainly made us suffer, didn’t they?  By the overtime, I had no voice left, and everyone on the field – and off – were exhausted.  I was hoping the game wouldn’t go into penalties – I never like having a championship game, much less the final of the World Cup end that way – but I wasn’t too worried, because I knew we had San Iker.  But then Andrés Ineista showed up and saved the day.

Game notes:

– the overtime period was watched by 15.6 million people in Spain, or about 85.9% of households, a new record.

– that karate kick to the chest of Xabi Alonso was brutal, wasn’t it?

– and Iker crying.  I remember him crying at the end of the game when Real Madrid won the 2000 Champions League, when he was only 19 years old.  Ten years later, it’s nice to know that he has not changed one bit.  It also reminded me of the 2002 Champions League final, because Iker was also wearing green in that game and ended up crying on the field.

And he had a fantastic game, didn’t he?  I guess it’s good that he used to go up against Arjen Robben in Madrid’s training sessions!

– by my count, every single player flew to Andrés Iniesta after he scored, with the exception of the crying Iker, Sergio Busquets who stayed behind to comfort Iker, and Carlos Marchena, who was heading towards Iniesta and then went for Iker.

– I loved, loved, loved Iniesta’s tribute to Dani Jarque.  Upon scoring, Andrés ripped off his jersey to reveal a tank top with the words “Dani Jarque, siempre con nosotros” (Dani Jarque, always with us) as a tribute to his good friend and Espanyol player, who died about a year ago at the age of 26 from a heart attack.  Espanyol’s fans are already planning to give Ineista a rousing ovation the next time Barcelona visits the Estadi Cornellà-El Prat.

Once again, it just shows how much heart and character every single player has on this team.

I wonder how many babies are going to be born nine months from now?

– and did you see how, while the entire Spanish team was celebrating, Vicente del Bosque just kind of did a fist clench, and that was the extent of his celebration?

– poor Fernando Torres, getting injured in the last 10 seconds of the game!

– and as a madridista, the images of Sergio and Iker consoling Snejider and Robben were very touching.

Oh, and watch the Lego reenactment of the final here!  I love the attention to detail:  the bald heads of several of the Dutch players, the long hair of Puyol, the kick to the chest of Xabi Alonso.  But the best part is the Lego version of the Andrés Iniesta shirt removal.

Posted on July 14, 2010, in campeones, games and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. thanks so much for your posts – i’ve really enjoyed learning more about the spanish team. they’re pretty awesome, aren’t they? ;) keep up the great work!

  2. I was instantly reminded of Iker crying back ing 2000 too. I love that he’s so emotional and so passionate about his team. I love these boys so much.

    Will you do a posting of what Pepe Reina said when presenting the players? Thank you!

  3. Oh Iker ;_; it breaks my heart! I love the fact that Busquets and also Marchena stayed behind to comfort him. What a great team, what a great team! *sighs*

  4. Hello there, i’m a new reader :). I just found this blog and i like it soooo much. I like the way you share the story because somehow it’s exactly the same with what i feel and what i wanna say.. i’m from Indonesia by the way (pardon my bad english). where r u come from? Are u a spanish? I always wanted to go to Spain.. :'( I love Spain NT so much.. Actually i love each players soo damn much.. My fav player used to be Raul, but since he didn’t play for NT anymore the place is for Cesc Fabregas (still love Raul though). Please write more about Cesc.. oh yeah, talking about Cesc, did you see Pique and Puyol put on Barca shirt on him? So funny.. :D

  5. Again..Thank you SO VERY much for all the effort you’re putting into this.
    I love how you notice little details that most people skip (eg: the Xavi-Cesc “kiss” at the beginning of the post)

    VAMOS ESPANA!!! xD

  6. Oh dear the lego video is hilarious!! I can’t stop laughing! The :) on the lego faces! (especially when the Ref hands out a card or when poor Xabi was kicked!)

    Thank you for sharing!

  7. I was re-reading several post on your blog for a dose of La Furia Roja boyz then I stumble into this post,
    the bond between the boys and their humility never cease to melt me into a puddle squeeing goo *aww*
    and the Xavi and Cesc’s pseudo-kiss cracks me up!

    thank you

  1. Pingback: the news from Madrid « con la roja

  2. Pingback: Espanyol shows how it’s done « con la roja

Leave a comment