the list for Slovakia and Luxembourg

Vicente del Bosque has announced the list of players called up for the upcoming Euro qualifiers against Slovakia (Oct. 9, 20:45h in Žilina) and Luxembourg (Oct. 12, 20:45h, Luxembourg City).

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas, David de Gea, Kiko Casilla.

Defenders: Dani Carvajal, Juanfran Torres, Gerard Piqué, Raúl Albiol, Sergio Ramos*, César Azpilicueta, Jordi Alba, Marc Bartra*.

Midfielders: Ander Iturraspe, Sergio Busquets, Koke Resurrección, Andrés Iniesta, Santi Cazorla, Cesc Fàbregas, David Silva, Juan Bernat, Raúl García. 

Forwards: Rodrigo Moreno, Pedro Rodríguez, Diego Costa, Paco Alcácer.

This is the first-ever call-up for Rodrigo and Juan.  Both had played extensively with the U-21 team, and Rodrigo is in fact the team’s all-time top goalscorer (24 goals).  VDB said he called them up because both are playing well, and they should be called up to play for the national team for many years to come.  Rodrigo said it’s one of the happiest days of his life, and he heard the news from Paco while he was showering, as he wasn’t aware that the list was coming out at that time.

Iniesta and Piqué have made a return to the team, while Mikel San José, Marc Bartra, Isco and Munir have dropped off the list in comparison with the last call-up.  However, Isco and Munir are on the U-21 team list (FYI, Dani Carvajal, Juan Bernat, Koke and Paco Alcácer are all still eligible to play for the U-21 team).

The concentración begins on Oct. 6 at 13h.  The team will train at the Ciudad de Fútbol that afternoon and again on Tuesday afternoon before traveling to Slovakia on Wednesday and holding one training session there.  The game will be played on Thursday at the Štadión pod Dubňom.  On Friday, the team will travel to Luxembourg and train.  On Saturday, there will be a training session at the Stade Josy Barthel, and on Sunday, the game will be played there.

* Due to a calf injury, Sergio Ramos was replaced by Marc Bartra.

As for the U-21 team, it will be playing Serbia twice on Oct. 10 and Oct. 14.  The games are the playoffs for the 2015 U-21 Euro qualification.  The first leg will be played in Jagodina on Oct. 10 at 17h, and the second leg will be played on Oct. 14 at 18h in Cádiz.

Goalkeepers: Kepa Arrizabalaga, Dani Sotres, Fernando Pacheco.

Defenders: Jonny Castro, Sergi Gómez, Pablo Insua, Alberto Moreno, Javier Manquillo, Marc Muniesa, José Luis Gayá.

Midfielders: Saúl Ñíguez, Pablo Sarabia, Isco Alarcón, Óliver Torres, Sergi Darder, Gerard Deulofeu, Sergi Roberto.

Forwards: Iker Muniain, Sandro Ramírez, Álvaro Morata, Munir El Haddadi.

Posted on October 3, 2014, in la rojita, team. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: