when Xabi met Xavi

El País’s Mundial 2010 suplemento especial also features a Xabi vs. Xavi meeting, and this adorable picture.

It’s basically a mutual admiration society!

Xavi: I still remember when I began seeing you play in Real Sociedad, when you almost won the Liga (2002-03).  I saw you and I thought, “this guy has the skills to play at the highest level.  How does he control the ball and understand football like that?”

Alonso: I knew of you from before, when van Gaal was coach, no?  Yes, that’s right.  And then we met in the 2004 Eurocopa and from then on I noticed how you make a team work.  Anyone who plays next to you realizes how good you are.  And that it’s almost impossible to rob the ball from you.

X: Look who’s talking.  You, in addition for being known for your touch, are also good in making long and short passes.  But the best thing about you is that a lot of times you pass the ball without first controlling it.  It seems like you learned your trade in the Can Barça.

A: I’m from the Can Antiguoko.  You can’t compare that to La Masía, but a small neighborhood like mine has produced very good players: Aduriz, Arteta, Iraola, my brother and me.  And all in a matter of a few years.  There, they try to teach you how to play football and look where we ended up.

X: In this team, it’s easy to get along.  For example, you and I have a wonderful understanding.  I like to play 10 or 15 meters ahead of you.  I prefer to move between the lines so that you’ll send me the pass.  I need people like you behind me, that assists rapidly without handling the ball two or three times before passing.  This creates spaces and it gives me the time to receive the ball, turn and pass the ball.  You prefer to hang back to see the entire field.

A: Yes.  I don’t like playing in small spaces.  For that we have you, since you move up and facilitate the play.  The good thing about the national team is that del Bosque gives us liberty on the field.  We can go forward, or go back.  And it works.  But we have to know how to interpret that liberty, to see if I join you up front, or fall back with Busi…

X: We understand each other very well.

A: Yes, on the field we talk almost only in monosyllables: ¡Solo! ¡Dame! ¡De cara! ¡Fácil!…

X: Because there are people like you with whom it’s not necessary to say anything.  Just like with Iniesta, Silva Cesc… What can you say to them?

X: But when it comes to defending, I listen to you.  Those in the back have the power to command.  I’m sure you listen to the central defenders.  And the goalkeeper has even more power to command.

A: Well, you behave quite nicely.  You don’t break away often.  You seem to be a diligent boy…

X: And if something is not working, Puyi will let us know.

A: Both Puyol and Marchena, who are the most experienced in the group, never stop talking.  Or Piqué and Albiol.  It’s normal.  The wingbacks can’t see the field as well, but the good thing is that we all speak the same language.

X: I’m anxious to play the first game.  I’m not nervous.  Are you?

A: No, not nervous.  But I will have butterflies an hour before arriving.  I like this tension, it’s needed.  You and I aren’t very maniacal before going onto the pitch.  I focus more on how the rivals play.

A: Well, we’ll see what happens.

X: I hope everything goes well.

Posted on June 13, 2010, in interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. ahhhh i love xavi :)

  2. I love how much respect the Spanish team has for each other. It’s so great that they are like a huge family, unlike France there’s no love. haha. I love Xavi so much.

  3. Hahaha I enjoyed this a lot! They need a room! ;) LOL nah really its great ans was essential that they understand each other so well!

Leave a comment