the provisional list of 30 for Brazil

Vicente del Bosque announced today the provisional list of 30 players for the upcoming World Cup.  The final list of 23 players will be announced on May 25.

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas, Pepe Reina, David de Gea.

Defenders: César Azpilicueta, Gerard Piqué, Sergio Ramos, Jordi Alba, Alberto Moreno, Javi Martínez, Raúl Albiol, Juanfran Torres, Dani Carvajal.

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets, Xabi Alonso, Koke Resurrección, Ander Iturraspe, Xavi Hernández, Thiago Alcántara, Jesús Navas, David Silva, Cesc Fàbregas, Juan Mata, Santi Cazorla, Andrés Iniesta.

Forwards: Pedro Rodríguez, Diego Costa, David Villa, Fernando Torres, Álvaro Negredo, Fernando Llorente.

Thoughts on the list?  Any surprises, notable absences or sighs of relief for you?

Posted on May 13, 2014, in team. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Can’t wait to see the final list!

  2. NANDO MADE THE SQUAD!!!!!! ….as ecstatic as I am, I’m (obviously) surprised, especially given the enormous amount of talent Spain’s got regarding strikers.

    Thanks for the list, Una!! Hope you’ll be able to post this summer- i can’t believe it’s been already 4 years since waka waka! :)

  3. Where’s Gabi and Raul Garcia?? And I’m surprised because Mata is on the list, despite his bad performance

  4. I kinda expected Isco to make the provisional list at least. Arbeloa, I’m not surprised he didnt make the list. Hasnt done too well this season, been out injured more of the this yr. Carvajal, I’m supa happy for him, he’s been brilliant this season for Madrid& he has kept Arbeloa warming the bench with his awesomeness. Torres, I dont get his inclusion. He has been disappointing for his club. Tho Del Bosque loves his tried n trusted. Anyway Cmon Spain, defend that title!!!

  5. I’m actually really pleased Fernando and Juan made it into the squad even though they hadn’t had the best season. I feel like they’d still do a lot for the morale of the group if that makes any sense

  6. Pundits note with surprise the inclusion of Torres, I’d agree. Puyol’s absence is not surprising, but sad. I’d like to see VDB go one further on his Euro 2012 strategy and play eleven midfielders including Javi Martínez.

  7. ITUUUUUUUUUUUUU.

    *ahem*

    I’m not hugely surprised by the list (though I’d have liked to see Illarramendi included) but I am super excited for Itu guapo de mi vida, and I’m very glad to see Fer Llorente’s name, too! I’ve missed my boys!

  8. Somehow I’m not that surprised that Vicente del Bosque selected most players from the winning teams of the years before to keep the spirit alive, although I’m delighted to see at least a few new faces on the preliminary list.
    The absence of Álvaro Arbeloa was a bit of a shock for me and I’m sorry for Isco Alarcón he didn’t make it onto the list but as VdB said, even the provisional list is too short for all the players who’d deserve to be on it.
    I’m happy for Koke Resurrección, César Azpilicueta & Dani Carvajal for their place on the list and though I miss Víctor Valdés I think we’re lucky to have David de Gea in our squad. My greatest sighs of relief were for the one and only Dahveed Veeyah “Maravilla” & Fernando “El Niño” Torres ’cause I wasn’t that sure they’d make it this time.
    However, can’t wait for the definite list! Will be a hard task for VdB to discard another seven players…

    Last but not least I want to express my admiration for this amazing “La Roja” blog of yours.
    I adore your work and I’m sure many other aficionados like me appreciate it a lot!
    Thank you, Una! I hope you keep it up…

  9. I am thrilled my Matita made it to the 30, but I’m a little worried for the cuts; I think he might be on the cusp. Fingers x’ed so very tightly!!!

  10. Four years, Una! What a feat! I hope you can keep us posted during this WC. Gracias, amiga!

Leave a Reply

