Juan Mata – El País Confecup Q&A

Juan Mata comes across as witty and charming in the El País Q&A.  And he finished on a roll!  All together now, ¡poooorrrrr fa-vorrrrrr Juan Mata!

I really wish these interviews came with videos so we could see the players’ reactions to the questions…

What is Pelé called?  Edson Arantes do Nascimento.  

What is a folha seca?  In football, when you strike the ball and it rises and drops quickly.   

What colors are Botafogo’s shirt?  White and black.  

What team did Garrincha play for?  I don’t know. 

What team does Romario’s father support?  I saw a statue of Romario at the field of Vasco da Gama, so I suppose he must support that team.    

Why are Uruguayans called charrúas?  I don’t know. 

What does mezcal taste like?  I don’t know what that is.  

Who would you do an escrache to?  To you! 

Where does SpongeBob SquarePants work?  In the sea.  

Who sang to the girl from Ipanema?  Vinicius de Moraes. 

Who was called “the cat of Maracanã“?  Ramallets.  

What is the percentage of water in a watermelon?  Very high.  

Why are Brazilians protesting on the streets?  Because they want greater social equality.

Have you seen any episodes of Dancin’ Days?  Of what? 

Aquí no hay quien viva” or “West Wing”?  When I lived in Spain, “Aquí no hay quien viva.” 

Have you ever received a bribe (anything in envelopes)?  Sometimes, nutritional supplements.  

How many millions are unemployed in Spain?  A lot, six million, it’s awful.  

Why doesn’t Rajoy give press conferences?  I don’t know, he has sat down for interviews on television, but I don’t know…  

Who was Fittipaldi?  Emerson Fittipaldi, a Brazilian F1 driver. 

Are Robe and Andrés Iniesta cousins?  No, they’re close friends.  

What is the name of the singer of La Polla Records?  Ernesto.  

What school did Iker Casillas go to?  He attended the Iker Casillas School in Móstoles, they had already named it after him when he was a child.  

Why are bankers not going to prison?  Some have gone and I’m sure more will go. 

At what age did you have sex for the first time?  At 17. 

Who played at the first concert you went to?  Los Hombres G and El Canto del Loco.  

What was the Maracanazo?  When Uruguay beat Brazil in the final of the 1950 World Cup at the Maracanã.    

What are the British and Irish Lions?  A rugby team.  

What is Dalsy?  A medication for children. 

What position did María José Claramunt’s father play?  Pepe Claramunt played for Valencia as a midfielder.  

What is the name of Mou’s dog?  I have no idea.  

Why did Javier Tébas, president of the LFP, try to prevent Messi from playing in the first division?  He didn’t let him?  How awful!  

What is special about a Brazilian cut panty?  That it’s cut to show half the butt.  

Who was Feliciano Fidalgo?  The double F.  

Why do so many children die in Africa every day?  Due to social injustice, malnutrition, diseases…  

Does size matter?  It depends on what for, of course! 

What is the name of the woman who cleans your house?  Daniela, she’s Brazilian.  

When was the last time you cried?  It was so long ago that I don’t even remember.   

Why are there so many talk shows in Spain?  Because people believe they know everything.  

What would you give as a gift to Sara Carbonero?  The jersey of the captain of the Spanish national team. 

Which team would you never sign for?  A basketball team, since I’m sure they won’t want me.  

How much do the testicles of a rhinoceros weigh?  More than yours! 

And here’s the “En cinco toques” test by Marca.

What are the best and worst things about living in England?  The best is the tranquility that you have.  After the training sessions and the games, I can visit the city, which is something I love doing, without any problems.  And the worst… is perhaps missing your loved ones, they’re important to me.

What is your first memory of the national team?  The first memory I have is the World Cup in the United States, when Luis Enrique’s nose was broken.

What is the most unusual thing a female fan has asked of you?  I don’t know.  Asking me to sign in unusual places or asking me to do a congratulatory video for a wedding or things like that… which I did.

Who is the last person you have followed on Twitter?  I don’t know who the last one is, but I remember one of the last few, some friends that have a foundation in Valencia to fight multiple sclerosis.  I follow them and I support them from here.  

Who will you do if Spain wins the Confecup?  Have a much more tranquil and happy vacation than if we didn’t win it.  Disconnect.  Nothing special.

Posted on June 26, 2013, in q&a and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. He’s a smart one! Super like!

  2. omg JUAN. the best Q&A yet. his answers to the last two questions killed me. I had no idea he was so witty.

  3. Ahahaha Juanín! These had me cracking up! He’s so sassy!

  4. Ha ha. Love the highlighted answers. Porrr favvorrrr!!! I wonder if Iker will actually answer this.

  5. Now I love him even more!

Leave a Reply

