Xavi – El País Confecup Q&A

Xavi didn’t disappoint in his El País Q&A!  And of course, he knew the answers to the football-related questions.

He’s called Pelopo, he’s a Premio Príncipe de Asturias winner and he was born in Terrassa in 1980.  He’ll marry Núria this summer in Blanes.  He’s happy, and you can see it on his face.  After his family, friends and football, nothing makes him happier than buying a pair of shoes.  He fell apart laughing during the Q&A, and at the end, he said thank you.  A phenomenon.

What is Pelé’s name?  Edson Arantes do Nascimento.

What is a folha seca?  A shot that ¡flu! drops very quickly.

What colors are Botafogo’s shirt?  White and black.  

What team did Garrincha play for?  For Botafogo, I believe. 

What team does Romario’s father support?  I have no idea.  It should be Flamengo or Vasco.  I don’t know.  

Why are Uruguayans called charrúas?  I don’t know. 

What does mezcal taste like?  Hombre, I have a drink once in a while, but not mezcal!  

Who would you do an escrache to?  What is that, a judo hold?  No hombre, I wouldn’t do that to anyone. 

Where does SpongeBob SquarePants work?  I don’t know, I don’t watch cartoons.  

Who sang “The Girl from Ipanema“?  I don’t know, I prefer older music but not that old. 

Who was called “the cat of Maracanã“?  Ramallets!  

What is the percentage of water in a watermelon?  Very high, 80 percent, no?  

Where was Tahamata born?  Ours?  The one that works for Barça?  Or the player?  The player should be Chinese or Japanese!  

Have you seen any episodes of Dancin’ Days?  No, never. 

Aquí no hay quien viva” or “West Wing”?  I’m a big fan of Aída…  

Have you ever received a bribe [literal translation from Spanish is have you ever gotten paid in envelopes]?  Well, some expenses.    

How many millions are unemployed in Spain?  A lot, about six million.  Too many.  

Why doesn’t Rajoy give press conferences?  When there are elections, he does, no?  We footballers do have to suffer them.  I suppose it’s because they’ll really lay into him.  

Who was Fittipaldi?  Emerson Fittipaldi, race car driver, no?  

Are Robe and Andrés Iniesta cousins?  Robe?  What Robe?  

What is the name of the singer of La Polla Records?  I have no idea.  No fuckin’ idea.  

What school did Iker Casillas go to?  One in Móstoles, but I have no idea.  

Why are bankers not going to prison?  Because they hadn’t committed any crimes.  But… the truth is… look, I’m not the judge, but the law is for everyone, that’s clear.  

At what age did you have sex for the first time?  At 14 or 15.  I got a move on early.  

Who played at the first concert you went to?  Los Siniego, a group made up of friends.  They’re no longer a group, since they weren’t successful.  But the first real one was Víctor Manuel and Ana Belén at the stadium of Terrassa.  I was nine.  And I fell asleep, of course.  

What was the Maracanazo?  Uruguay’s victory over Brazil in the 1950 World Cup in Brazil, at the Maracanã.  A big deal, nano.  

What are the British and Irish Lions?  I have no idea.  

What is Dalsy?  I don’t know. 

What position did María José Claramunt’s father play?  Midfielder.  

What is the name of Mou’s dog?  Mou has a dog?  

Why did Javier Tébas, president of the LFP, try to prevent Messi from playing in the first division?  For a matter related to nationality…  

What is special about a Brazilian cut panty?  That it’s half a thong, half a panty.  

Who was Feliciano Fidalgo?  Is that the one who fought with Gil?  I don’t know.  

Why do so many children die in Africa every day?  Due to hunger, malnutrition, diseases, because rich countries in the world forget about the poor ones.  

Does size matter?  Size is important!  And very much so!

What is the name of the woman who cleans your house?  Paquita is a woman who live with us, and she’s family.  

When was the last time you cried?  I don’t normally cry out of sorrow, I cry more out of emotion. 

Why are there so many talk shows in Spain?  Because there are people who know everything and they like to talk.  

What would you give as a gift to Sara Carbonero?  A small gift, but with a lot of affection. 

Which team would you never sign for?  There’s no time left for that, when I finish with Barça, I’ll retire.  

How much do the testicles of a rhinoceros weigh?  ¡Collons!  Who knows! 

Posted on June 20, 2013, in q&a and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. And of course he knew all the answers to football related questions.The guy is obsessed,no?

  2. Awe, Xavi is getting married!!! Not only does he know the football questions, he seems to know the questions about sex as well. “I got a move on early.” and know about a Brazilian cut panty. Ha ha ha. But I love all of his answers.

  3. Hahahaha, our little bachelor (although not for long). Maybe he’ll know the answers to the kid-related questions after he has one of his own. Or maybe not.

    I am disappointed that he didn’t know which school Iker attended, to be honest.

    And “Size is important. And very much so!” loooool

  4. I adore Xavi. He’s been so much happier & relaxed this year. And getting married! Good for him. :)

  5. At what age did you have sex for the first time? At 14 or 15. I got a move on early.

    14 or 15? Surely you remember the age you lost your virginity. Lol
    Notice how the ones willing to answer this are the ones who lost it early ;)

  6. Emma Tiede (@Justicerocks11)

    Oh Xavi, his interview questions are always so funny.

  1. Pingback: Funny Xavi interview | My Heart Beats Football

Leave a Reply

