Fernando Torres – El País Confecup Q&A

Up next in the El País Q&A is Fernando Torres!  The article starts out by saying that it’s time we stop calling Fernando “El Niño,” but come on, he still has that baby face!  And they better start doing two a day so that we can get all of the players before the tournament ends.

What is Pelé’s name?  Pelé, that is sufficient.  

What is a folha seca?  When you kick the ball with the front of the instep and it goes up and down.    

What colors are Botafogo’s shirt?  White and black stripes.  

What team did Garrincha play for?  I don’t know, he was Brazilian, but I don’t know which team he played for. 

What team does Romario’s father support?  I have no idea.  

Why are Uruguayans called charrúas?  I have no idea. 

What does mezcal taste like?  It tastes like mezcal.  

Who would you do an escrache to?  It’s better not to answer and be politically correct.

Where does SpongeBob SquarePants work?  He lives in a pineapple at the bottom of the sea and he works at Burger Club.  

Who sang “The Girl from Ipanema“?  A singer.  I prefer rock music. 

Who was called “the cat of Maracanã“?  A Spanish goalkeeper.  

What is the percentage of water in a watermelon?  Ninety percent.  

Where was Tahamata born?  In Japan?  

Have you seen any episodes of Dancin’ Days?  No. 

Aquí no hay quien viva” or “West Wing”?  I’ve never watched “West Wing,” but I will. 

Have you ever received a bribe?  No, never.  

How many millions are unemployed in Spain?  Twenty five percent of the working population, according to what I read the other day.  

Why doesn’t Rajoy give press conferences?  He appears on TV, no?  

Who was Fittipaldi?  Which one, the one from Fito & Fitipaldis or the one that was a race car driver. 

Are Robe and Andrés Iniesta cousins?  No, but both are phenomenons.  

What is the name of the singer of La Polla Records?  I don’t know.  

What school did Iker Casillas go to?  One in Móstoles.  

Why are bankers not going to prison?  I suppose when the first one goes to prison, the rest will follow, but the first time is always very difficult [nice lead in to the next question…]. 

At what age did you have sex for the first time?  That is very personal.  

Who played at the first concert you went to?  I’m sure it was El Canto del Loco.  

What was the Maracanazo?  When Uruguay beat Brazil in the final of the 1950 World Cup at the Maracanã.  

What are the British and Irish Lions?  A rugby team.    

What is Dalsy?  What you give children when they’re not feeling well. 

What position did María José Claramunt’s father play?  I don’t know, what was he?  

What is the name of Mou’s dog?  I don’t know.  

Why did Javier Tébas, president of the LFP, try to prevent Messi from playing in the first division?  I suppose he wanted him to become a Spanish citizen.  

What is special about a Brazilian cut panty?  The string, no?  

Who was Feliciano Fidalgo?  I don’t know.  

Why do so many children die in Africa every day?  Because the world is not divided well.  

Does size matter?  It depends on for what. 

What is the name of the woman who cleans your house?  Her name is Shina.  

When was the last time you cried?  Just a while ago, because I miss my kids. 

Why are there so many talk shows in Spain?   It’s in fashion. 

What would you give as a gift to Sara Carbonero?  I would give to Sara, and many others, earplugs so that they don’t have to listen to the many idiots around them. 

Which team would you never sign for?  For any that my wife won’t let me sign for.  

How much do the testicles of a rhinoceros weigh?  I don’t know, 10 kilos? 

Posted on June 18, 2013, in q&a and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Hahahaha, he obviously cares a lot more about his wife and kids than about Mou, and rightfully so.

  2. He will always be El Nino to me, and what great answers! I love that he knows where Sponge Bob works and I love all the answers related to his wife and children!

  3. i LOVE that he was so specific about the spongebob squarepants one — you can tell he’s a papi! hahaha!

  4. his response to what to give sara was perfect!

  5. Hahaha! Reading this, I remembered how vague Fernando’s answers were to the questionnaires you translated during the other Cups, too….

    He’s so unashamedly accurate about where SpongeBob lives after 5 vague/’i have no idea’ answers. Scoring goals, not scoring, scowling, or being half of Sernando, whatever. I just love this man.

    Thanks, Una!!!

    • Oh- and yes, una! DEFINITELY one to highlight: “When was the last time you cried? Just a while ago, because I miss my kids.” *_* love!

  6. Thank you for translating!! Loved his advice to Sara, heh!

  7. Oh my god. Fer is precious as always – the bit about his kids was so sweet, and I cracked up/totally agreed with his answer re: gifts for Sara.

Leave a Reply

