Sergio Ramos at El Partido de las 12

Sergio Ramos was the special guest at COPE’s “El Partido de las 12” program on Tuesday night.  He spoke with them for one hour on a variety of topics.

on reaching 100 games: perhaps the first thing that comes to mind is how fast it all went, so you don’t have time to stop and think about it.  I’m tremendously proud of it, because previously, Carles Puyol, a great footballer, reached it at the age of 34, if I’m not mistaken, and I’m lucky to be able to reach it 26, during a very good stage in my life.  If God wants and I take care of myself, the number will go up.  I have to thank Luis Aragonés for taking a chance with me, considering that I had a very great competitor, Míchel Salgado, in front of me.  I didn’t have a lot of experience in the World Cup, in the Champions League, since it was my first year in Real Madrid, and using a 19-year-old kid in World Cup qualifiers is not something all coaches would do.

(Sergio debuted in March 2005, so it took eight years for him to reach the milestone, and he’s also the eighth Spanish player to do so.  To compare, Gerard Piqué is only 13 months younger, but the game against Finland will be his 50th.)

on the World Cup: there’s nothing else like it.  I’ve seen my father cry twice in my life and one of those times was when I went up to the podium and lifted up the World Cup.  The other time was when my grandfather passed away.  My father has always been very reserved, very very special.  Perhaps in this I’m a bit similar to him and that’s why I got so emotional seeing him cry that it was inevitable that I cried as well.  I don’t cry a lot, especially out of joy.  Now that I’m getting older, I’m becoming more sensitive.  [They then tease him that all it wil take to make him cry is a good corner from Özil.]  It’s true, I don’t know if it’s the football or spending so much time with my mother but I’m getting softer.

on what his mother did when he took the penalty against Portugal: my mother turned around because she was so nervous about what could happen, she picked up Pepe’s daughter Grecia, turned around, and kissed her, and when she saw everyone celebrating, she knew.

on his relationship with the Barcelona players: I’m sure many people will be surprised, but I get along quite well with Piqué.  (Who do you get along with the best from Barcelona?)  Perhaps with Busi, Andrés.  I get along with everyone, with Víctor… generally speaking, I get along with everyone.  Perhaps people will be surprised that I get along well with Valdés, we became good friends during the Eurocopa because my family only attended the last few games, just like his, I think it was just the final, and so we ended up spending a lot of time together.  We found out we have a lot of things in common.  I have to admit I didn’t have a good impression of him before, but in the end, when you get to know people, you end up surprised.

They also get his niece Daniela to send him a message: “hello uncle, congratulations for your 100 games with the Spanish national team.  I’m going to go to the game to see you.  A kiss, I love you a lot.”  He says it’s my “gordi,” my Daniela, and adds that he loves kids and playing with her whenever she visits him in Madrid.

René is also present, and he’s subjected to a little quiz on his brother.  He says Sergio’s best quality is his personality, his worst quality is his generosity, his favorite food is their mother’s chicken in sauce, and that Sergio is a magnificent brother and he’s not saying that just because Sergio is sitting next to him.  He also says Sergio is a very good son, and that Daniela had to do “12 takes” for that message.

Other things: Sergio says he’s had respectful discussions with Mou and Aragonés that helped him to learn, as their differences were for the good of the group, but never with Vicente del Bosque, and “I don’t think he’s had any problems with anyone at any point in his life.”  He says Mourinho and Aragonés demand respect because they know so much about football, and he has learned every day he’s spent with Luis.  They also have Canelita, José Mercé and Niña Pastori (I love the song they play, “Amor de San Juan”) on the show, and they basically just tell Sergio how much they love and adore him and send him kisses, and Sergio does the same (he adds that he gets goosebumps when “his” María (Niña Pastori) sings.)  Sergio says he feels blessed to have such good friends.

The usual strange questions to end the interview, plus questions sent via twitter.

convince us men to put on sunblock: well, hombre, time goes by so fast, and we’re exposed to the cold, the heat, and your skin gets damaged and then you get used to it and your girlfriend gets tired of seeing your face… but it is important to take care of yourself and to feel young.

on the “Morry Cri-mas” and tweets in English: I’m taking English classes and learning.  Don’t ask me if I’ve had any offers from England.

on whose concert he would attend if the world were ending: Canelita or José Mercé: well… I hope the world doesn’t end and I can spend a lot of time with both of them.

Posted on March 20, 2013, in interviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. thank you for the effort of translating.

  2. You are the Xabi of Real Madrid blogs…so boss! :) Thank you for this!

  3. Wow, he’s so young to reach 100 games! Congrats Sergio, here’s to 100 and many more. It’s amazing to see all these players reaching 100 caps. I hope that Villa can get there as the leading goal scorer. The anecdote about his mom picking up Grecia is too sweet!

  4. “when you get to know people, you end up surprised.”
    so glad to see Sergio‘s wonderful friendship with his teammates. He is really a nice and warm person. really great.
    thank you so much for the translation!! lovely details ;-) ;-)

  5. I love any and everything you post about Sergio !!!!!!!!

  6. on the “Morry Cri-mas” and tweets in English: I’m taking English classes and learning. Don’t ask me if I’ve had any offers from England.

    >>> OMG! He’s seriously learning English?! (maybe after that “Morry Cri-mas” ..LOL!!). Grande Sergio!

  7. HAHA my favourite pt of the interview is, as you labeled it, ‘The usual strange questions to end the interview’. Lol! Thank you thank you for translating, Una! You are such a sweetheart! <3

    "hombre, time goes by so fast, and we’re exposed to the cold, the heat, and your skin gets damaged and then you get used to it and your girlfriend gets tired of seeing your face…"

Leave a Reply

