three and a half minutes with… VDB, Toni Grande & Jorge Pérez

Yay, the El País Q&As with Luis Martín are back!  This time around, they’re called “three and a half minutes with…” and it appears that the questions are as obscure as ever!  The first person to take the test was Vicente del Bosque.

1.  What makes you angry?  Disloyalty, but I understand how life is…

2. How much are chickens these days?  It’s been a while since I did the shopping.  And I liked it a lot.

3.  Do you have good handwriting?  I’ve always tried to have good handwriting.

4.  Do you like croquetasA lot, the ones of my mother and my wife.  Outside of home, I don’t usually eat them.

5.  Does your cousin carry a risk (a play on words on the phrase “prima de riesgo” – risk premium – since “prima” also means female cousin)?  There’s always some in this life. 

6.  Why do we close our eyes when we sneeze? It’s an instinctive movement.

7.  How many goals has Villa scored for Spain?  40-some.

8.  Where is the Antiguo neighborhood? In San Sebastián.

9.  Have you tried Iniesta’s wine?  Yes, it’s really good.  I don’t know too much about wines, but I like good ones and this one is good.

10.  What position did Mata’s father play?  As a winger, he played for Unión and Burgos, I think.

11.  What is the purpose of a crankshaft?  So the motor functions.

12.  Why does the government rescue banks and forget people?  Because those people who managed the banks and the savings banks did poorly.

13.  How many games did Toni Grande play with the national team?  I think he played in the Olympics, in Mexico 68 and with the amateur team.

14.  How often does Del Bosque touch up his mustache?  Once in a while, I give it a trim.

15.  Who gave Belén Esteban that nose?  A surgeon.

16.  What team did Lato play for?  Stal Mielec.  We played in Poland and it got dark in the second half.  Lato, Szarmach played…

17.  Where is Auschwitz?  In Poland.

18.  What do Poland and Cataluña have in common?  It was a misunderstanding on the part of the people, for the Polish reference.   

19.  Who is Lech Walesa?  A union leader in Gdansk, a very Catholic city.

20.  How much do you spend on gas a month?  I don’t know, but it’s very expensive.

21.  On what day do the Sanfermines start?  My father and grandfather are named Fermín.  For me, it starts on the fourth.

22.  Where do you like to go on vacation?  It depends on who I go with, I prefer to go with my wife and daughter.

23.  What team does the writer Martínez de Pisón support?  I don’t know.

24.  When was the last time you took a private plane?  I’ve never taken a private plane.

25.  Who was BelausteThe first captain of the national team.

26.  How did Negredo get that scar on his headI imagine playing football.

27.  What is a flanker?  I don’t know.

28.  What does it mean to pull a Karanka?  It’s very difficult to be the assistant coach.

29.  How much did Iker Casillas weigh when he was born?  I have no idea.

30.  What is the name of Mazinger Z’s girlfriend?  I don’t know!

31.  How many of Liverpool’s supporters died in Hillsborough in 1989?  Too many.

32.  What is the secret of La Roja?  The sporting atmosphere, humility.

33.  Where do you go to have a beer?  I’m not one to go to bars.

34.  What did Pedro Picapiedra (Fred Flintstone) work as?  I have no idea.

35.  Why do footballers spit so much during games?  Go find out!

36.  Who killed the solider PileckiHow would I know?

37.  What is your favorite fruit pastilles flavor? I don’t like candy.

38.  What is the name of Son Goku’s son?  Who?

39.  What is the purpose of twitter?  To communicate, I imagine.

40. What happened with your controversy with Iñaki Gabilondo (this is a question posed by a humorist many years ago; Gabilondo is a journalist and anchor)?  I didn’t have any controversy with Iñaki!

Assistant Toni Grande was also made to take the test.  The interview describes him as having “a deep voice and a generous laugh” and says he is so traditional that even the way he walks reflects that.

1.  What makes you angry?  Losing.

2. How much are chickens these days?  I don’t do the shopping, but according to my wife, it’s one of the most economical things.

3.  Do you have good handwriting?  Yes.

4.  Do you like croquetasNot a lot.

5.  Does your cousin carry a risk (a play on words on the phrase “prima de riesgo” – risk premium – since “prima” also means female cousin)?  No.

6.  Why do we close our eyes when we sneeze?  So that nothing will hit us…  

7.  How many goals has Villa scored for Spain?  46 or 47, more or less.

8.  Where is the Antiguo neighborhood?  There are many old neighborhoods in Spain (“antiguo” means old).

9.  Have you tried Iniesta’s wine?  No.

10.  What position did Mata’s father play?  I believe as a winger.

11.  What is the purpose of a crankshaft?  It has something to do with cars.

12.  Why does the government rescue banks and forget people?  I don’t understand politics, much less economic issues.

13.  How many games did Toni Grande play with the national team?  None on the senior team.  I did play on the B team, with the U-23 team, the one made up of fans, which was what it was called, and on the Olympic team.  On all the teams except the senior team.

14.  How often does Del Bosque touch up his mustache?  I don’t think he touches it up often.

15.  Who gave Belén Esteban that nose?  Since she’s so famous, I imagine someone from the Menorca clinic (where many famous people get operated on).

16.  What team did Lato play for?  He played in Poland.  In Legia?

17.  Where is Auschwitz?  The concentration camp?  In Poland! 

18.  What do Poland and Cataluña have in common?  I don’t know… they’re thrifty people?

19.  Who is Lech Walesa?  A miner, trade unionist and retired politician. 

20.  How much do you spend on gas a month?  I use diesel oil.

21.  On what day do the Sanfermines start?  San Fermín is the seventh of July.

22.  Where do you like to go on vacation?  Alone?  Nowhere.

23.  Who was BelausteA player on the national team. 

24.  How did Negredo get that scar on his headDuring a play in a game.

25.  What is a flanker?  A flan… a German one.

26.  What does it mean to pull a Karanka?  I’m very fond of him and I wouldn’t want to make any mistakes when speaking about him.

27.  How much did Iker Casillas weigh when he was born?  The normal weight, two or three kilos. 

28.  How many of Liverpool’s supporters died in Hillsborough in 1989?  Too many for a football game. 

29.  What is the secret of La Roja?  The leadership.  Even Rajoy said Spain depends on us.

30.  Where do you go to have a beer?  In any place.  In a bar, at home, wherever…

31.  What did Pedro Picapiedra (Fred Flintstone) work as?  He worked in a quarry.

32.  Why do footballers spit so much during games?  It’s a tic. 

33.  What is the purpose of twitter?  It’s a way to communicate or a distraction that I don’t use.

34. What happened with your controversy with Iñaki Gabilondo (this is a question posed by a humorist many years ago; Gabilondo is a journalist and anchor)?  I didn’t have any controversy with Gabilondo. 

Jorge Pérez is the general director of the RFEF, and in his responses, you can tell he’s from another generation.  I really like his answer to the Karanka question, which Luis Martín seems to be asking in an attempt to humiliate the assistant coach.  By the way, the picture above is from December 2011, at the presentation of the “Donate your star” campaign.

1.  What makes you angry?  Bad manners.

2. How much are chickens these days?  It should be cheap because in expensive restaurants, they’re called everything but chicken.

3.  Do you like croquetasI love them.

4.  Does your cousin carry a risk (a play on words on the phrase “prima de riesgo” – risk premium – since “prima” also means female cousin)?  No, I have wonderful cousins.

5.  Why do we close our eyes when we sneeze?  Because it comes from the soul.

6.  How many goals has Villa scored for Spain?  51.

7.  Where is the Antiguo neighborhood?  The football team Antiguoko is from San Sebastián, and so I suppose this neighborhood is as well.

8.  Have you tried Iniesta’s wine?  No, but if it’s half as good as he is… 

9.  What is the purpose of a crankshaft?  I think it has something to do with the junta de la trócola of Gomaespuma (a radio show).

10.  Why does the government rescue banks and forget people?  In the end, the taxpayers are those who pay for the rescues.

11.  How many games did Toni Grande play with the national team?  He’s one of the five Spaniards to be a world champion and to have played in the Olympics, along with Xavi, Puyol, Capdevila and Marchena.

12.  How often does Del Bosque touch up his mustache?  I don’t know if he’s very particular about it.

13.  Who gave Belén Esteban that nose?  God.

14.  What team did Lato play for?  Lato is from my era and he played for Stal Mielec.

15.  What do Poland and Cataluña have in common?  They both have very hospitable and nice people. 

16.  Who is Lech Walesa?  A Polish unionist.  He was a hero, one of those that a country needs.

17.  How much do you spend on gas a month?  Around 40,000 pesetas.

18.  What team does the writer Martínez de Pisón support?  I have no idea, but there are more and more intellectuals who love football.

19.  When was the last time you took a private plane?  If I were a multimillionaire, it would be the one luxury I would give myself, for how comfortable it is.  

20.  Who was BelausteA footballer, former captain of the national team. 

21.  How did Negredo get that scar on his headHe collided with Iraola.

22.  What is a flanker?  I have no idea.

23.  What does it mean to pull a Karanka?  To be a great professional and a magnificent person.

24.  How much did Iker Casillas weigh when he was born?  I don’t know, but the day he was born was a great day for the history of football.

25.  What is the secret of La Roja?  The group. 

26.  What did Pedro Picapiedra (Fred Flintstone) work as?  De picapedrero.

27.  Why do footballers spit so much during games?  They don’t spit that much, but the cameras catch those moments. 

28.  What is the name of Son Goku’s son?  I don’t know.  I would like Nadal to explain it to me: he said he relaxes by watching “Dragon Ball.”

29.  What is the purpose of twitter?  To show that I need to retrain myself.

30. What happened with your controversy with Iñaki Gabilondo (this is a question posed by a humorist many years ago; Gabilondo is a journalist and anchor)?  It’s being repaired, bit by bit.

Posted on June 11, 2012, in q&a and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. amazing G & A thank you so much i hope this time we read iker’s interview.they did not has interview with iker and sergio in last time

  2. I love Jorge Perez’s answers! I think his response about Lech Walesa is the best so far.

  1. Pingback: three and a half minutes with… Fernando Llorente « con la roja

Leave a Reply

