guess who was at the game?

Everyone’s favorite, Álvaro del Bosque!

Álvaro even got to go down to the field before the game (while the players were taking their team photo) to hug his papá and shake hands with Toni Grande.  I don’t think anyone else could get away with that…

One of Marca’s reporters sat with Álvaro at the game.  They were accompanied by 12 children from the Down’s Syndrome Association of Madrid, an organization that VDB is very close to (in addition, the national team donated their prize money from the Príncipe de Asturias award to this association).

Álvaro was very nervous while watching the game, and told the reporter, “my father is the best coach in the world.”  Despite that, he couldn’t resist also saying, “Cesc should play more.”  He also revealed that “my friends on the national team are Xavi, Casillas and Iniesta.”

Meanwhile, Álvaro’s mother Trini was also there, and everyone addressed her as “marquess.”

P.S. I don’t think I’ll have time to finish the game post today, so you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to hear my thoughts on the game!  Sorry!

Posted on February 10, 2011, in games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. That’s OK Una! We can wait just a bit longer ;)

    Álvaro is very cute! He has a strong opinion (Cesc should play more indeed! Go Álvaro!)

  2. To hug his Dad?? Aww! Bless him. :)

    “so you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to hear my thoughts on the game!” — take your time Una! Although I’m sure you’ll try your hardest to get to the point where you can post a gif of Iker sans shorts (which I actually missed this time). ;D

  3. Aaahhhh, that’s so sweet! He must have been thrilled to be there. I have seen video of Alvaro horsing around with Xavi, and it is pretty adorable. (And I agree, Cesc should play more, but unfortunately for him this team is literally packed with talent in the midfield!)

  4. Never mind! The more time you take, the better your ICYMI posts will get.
    Álvaro is such a sweetheart! Yes – Cesc should play more (a pity he’s injured/sick so often) – and I’d die to be able to say my friends were Xavi, Iker and Andrés.

  5. Alvaro! :)))

  6. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!! he is every1 favorite…. THANX UNA … & I will wait… for your post… I bet is going to be great!!!!

  7. OMG Una I love this! Gracias bella!

  8. This was a beautiful post Una, Alvaro rocks!!! :D

    I really agree with him in the “Cesc should play more” part!!

  9. This is so sweet. Especially when he said this:

    He also revealed that “my friends on the national team are Xavi, Casillas and Iniesta.”

    I was re-reading the WC posts and loved the picture with all of La Roja cheering him on and that Xavi hung out with him on the bus!

  10. People saying Xavi is an A-hole should read this.

Leave a Reply

