Geri Piqué at FIFA

Geri Piqué recently spoke to FIFA (read the full interview here), and talked about his personal highlight of 2010, twitter and what “moc moc” means!!!  Who would have thought that FIFA of all people would ask the one question we all wanted to know the answer to?  And in case you’re pressed for time, it means “I’m thinking about you.”

Q:  There’s no doubt that 2010 was an unforgettable year in your career. Which was your personal highlight?

A:  The World Cup Final with Spain, without a doubt. The whole country came together as one, which is quite a feat, but football has the power to do that and we were the ones who pulled it off. And it’s not just that, it’s also the things we experienced over there: being in South Africa for a whole month, meeting so many people and getting to know teammates who you may not have known before but who’ve ended up becoming close friends.

Q:  After victory at South Africa 2010, Spain’s performances have been somewhat hit-and-miss. Why do you think this is?

A:  Listen, in qualifying matches for Euro 2012 we’ve played really well and won all our games. The defeats came in Argentina and Portugal, against two great national sides. I think if there was ever a time to allow ourselves the luxury of losing, it’s now, since we’re world champions and they were both friendlies. That said, 4-1 and 4-0 aren’t acceptable results for us, and we’re going to make sure it doesn’t happen again [I love this attitude!!!]

Q:  You’re one of the most active Spanish internationals when it comes to Twitter. How important are social networking services to the career of 21st century footballers?

A:  It’s a good tool for staying in touch with your followers. I think it’s positive for them to know a bit more about you and for them to realize there’s more to you than your job as a footballer.

Q:  Staying on that topic, can you clear up a doubt we had? What does “moc, moc” mean?

A:  (Laughs) Ah, that doesn’t really mean anything. (Laughs again) It’s an expression that me and my friends [Carles] Puyol and Cesc [Fábregas] use on Twitter which means “I’m thinking about you.” It’s also because Cesc lives over in London and sometimes it feels like he’s very far away. It’s a way of bringing us all closer and keeping in touch.

Q:  What are you like away from football?

A:  I like to spend plenty of time with my childhood friends, the ones I’ve known all my life and the ones with whom I can be myself. Apart from that I like to go to the cinema, read, use the computer. It’s not very different from what other young people do nowadays.

Q:  Finally, can you tell us who was your idol when you were growing up and who do you look up to in the modern game?

A:  I remember I used to watch Real Madrid’s Fernando Hierro, who I admired despite the fact he played for our eternal rivals. And at the moment there are several players I look up to, Ferdinand and Vidic being two examples, as well as Carles Puyol, who is a great friend and an example to follow.

Posted on January 24, 2011, in interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I love the pic you chose for this article! LOL!

    And I highly recommend Barcelona fans to go read the rest of the article, it’s very good.

  2. It’s an expression that me and my friends [Carles] Puyol and Cesc [Fábregas] use on Twitter which means “I’m thinking about you.” It’s also because Cesc lives over in London and sometimes it feels like he’s very far away. It’s a way of bringing us all closer and keeping in touch.

    Okay that’s adorable. Awwwwww.

    I remember I used to watch Real Madrid’s Fernando Hierro, who I admired despite the fact he played for our eternal rivals.

    He just endeared himself to me forever with that. (“Eternal rivals”, what a phrasing! I love it.)

  3. Really, MocMoc explanation and saying he admired Fernando Hierro – please Gerard Pique, is that what is supposed to help me (RM supporter) with getting over having a major crush on you?!

    geez, I adore him so much!!!!

    Thanks for addig this interview, Una!

  4. even though it’s fun to know the big meaning of “moc moc” , it feels kind of sad with all the mystery behind it, is gone now..

  5. *lmao* … WOW!!!! someone actually ask him that question….. what a great reporter… now every1 knows what moc moc means…. but on google translator it means something else… but if that makes him happy.. its ok….

    THANX UNA!!!!!

    for the update….

  6. omg ,this guy is so sweet! I got emotional when he talked about Cecs ;o I love the “moc moc” even more now! Thank you for sharing this!

  7. nice interview…
    okay una you are turning me into a la roja fan, and i am not a spaniard…

  8. Go go go, PK!
    Great interview. I’m also very surprised it was FIFA that carried it out. I guess they want to win Spanish fans’ support back (after the Ballon d’Or thing).

    Love the fact he admired Hierro (who doesn’t?). You know, Geri most of the time just seems so herpy-derpy and basically like a BIG child, which is not bad actually, but some things he says here show there’s a decent, mature Gerard Piqué slumbering inside of him. Adorable!

  9. Still not a fan.

  10. lol haha aww, I can never help but grin whenever I read something related to PK. And FIFA to do this interview, of all things? It probably is because of the Ballon D’Or. Whatever, they almost made up for it by asking about “moc, moc”. Almost. I mean, some fans might be happy, but I doubt Xavi cares about knowing what it means lol

  11. Yeah, finally someone aske the meaning of moc moc. I was really surprised! Didn’t expect that it means “I’m thinking about you”. But that’s too cute!!

  12. Wow, he comes off rather mature (for him) in this interview! Aw, our Geri is growing up before our very eyes :P His friendship with Cesc and Puyi is the most adorable thing ever…

  13. He loos up to Ferdinand & Vidic woot wooot sooo happy to read that being a red devil :).

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Geri Piqué at FIFA « con la roja -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

