Informe Robinson: Campeones del Mundo – the translation, part IV

Luckily for you all, Michelle and Jen are whizzes at translating and so here’s the translation of part four of the Informe Robinson special!  In this section, Sergio & Jesús cheat at bingo, divine intervention saves Piqué, Xabi poses, Cesc thinks everything is a goal, and Fernando Torres takes one for the team.  I love these boys.

Álvaro Arbeloa: Fifty days is a lot of time to spend together, but we had a great time.

Raúl Martínez: Andrés was always grooving to the music I played. “What great music!” he’d say. “Hey, I like this song. Play that one again!”

Xavi Hernández: Yes, there were a lot of jokes and pranks, and Piqué was always the one behind them!

Sergio Ramos: We played bingo, and between Jesús and me… let’s just say we had a few tricks up our sleeves!

Joan Capdevila: Why don’t you ask Arbeloa and Albiol if they [Sergio and Jesús] cheated or not!

AA: Is that what they told you???

Raúl Albiol: How stupid was that…

Jesús Navas: Uh, why don’t you ask Sergio about it?

RA: They ALWAYS beat us! We played eight games of bingo, and they won all eight – we said “madre mía, it’s not possible for them to win 100% of the time!”

JN: I don’t know, I guess it’s about luck, and I just happen to have lots of luck…

RA: Of course, in the end, it turned out that they were changing the numbers!

JN: … we did a bit of everything.

RA: They’d have a four, and a fourteen would be called, so they’d add a one…

SR: ….yes, guilty as charged.

***

Carlos Marchena: I think that those of us who have been part of the national team for a while are responsible for imparting our values to the newcomers. Things haven’t always been as good as they are now. But on the other hand, we can also help to take some of the pressure off of them, so they can feel free to just be themselves.

Miguel Gutiérrez, RFEF physiotherapist: This happens all the time. The media tries to make them out to be different from who they really are, but that’s not the case. When they’re amongst themselves, they’re really great guys. Some of the shy ones try to hide from the media frenzy that surrounds them. They’re young, they just want to go out and live their lives, but instead they have to remain cooped up, like much older people.

***

Narrator: For the fifth time in history, Spain reaches the quarterfinals of a World Cup.

Michael Robinson: You kept faith with Torres as a starter versus Paraguay, at a time when many people were thinking that he might not have been good enough…

Vicente del Bosque: Yes, because he’s one of those rare players who may go a long time without touching the ball, but remain capable of producing flashes of brilliance at any moment, and we stuck with him for as long as we thought we could.

***

XH: Paraguay put up a spectacular defensive display. This didn’t work, that didn’t work… we just couldn’t break through. The penalty kick was the turning point.

Gerard Piqué: The defender’s job is to keep one eye on the ball and the other on his man. But I found myself one-on-one [with Cardozo, the Paraguayan striker] where it was just him and me, and there was a moment where he feinted and got away from me, and I saw the ball coming towards us, and he was about to get on the end of it, and… I made a split-second decision, which in hindsight clearly wasn’t the right one.

XH: If they score, we’re practically out.

Iker Casillas: Pepe has a sick fascination with analyzing how our opponents take penalties.

Pepe Reina: I had a very good sense for Cardozo, because I’d seen him take many penalties in high-stakes situations, and I sensed that he was going to go with the side he usually favors, which is to the goalkeeper’s left.  He’s scored two penalties against me.  So it gave me the opportunity to serve up a nice cold dish of revenge.

IC: Between Pepe’s advice and my own intuition, I already knew that he was going to shoot to my left.

XH: Iker just has it, doesn’t he? I’m not sure if it’s luck, or the ability to keep a cool head, but we always have the security of knowing that, hey, we’ve still got Iker.

GP: The Virgin Mary appeared.

XH: It was good for Iker, after all the criticism he’d received.

IC: After that, things started unfolding very quickly.

[Villa is fouled in the box; Spain is awarded a penalty]

Xabi Alonso: The first time I took the penalty, I had a very clear sense of where to put it, but… when you have to take it a second time, you start questioning yourself… should I repeat what I just did, or…?

[Xabi is made to retake the penalty; this time it’s saved. Spain appeals for another penalty as Villa is fouled again by the goalie trying to get the rebound, but it’s not awarded.]

IC: How was it possible that the linesman – who was three meters away – didn’t call for another penalty?  Honestly, it was shameless.

***

Andrés Iniesta: It was a very quick play.

Cesc Fàbregas: Xavi got the first touch, then Andrés…

AI: I broke through between the two defenders…

CF: I saw that Pedro was there all alone, and I said, goal!

David Villa: I was already celebrating the goal when I saw the ball hit the post, and then it fell at my feet!

CF: I was behind el Guaje, and I said, goal! The ball hit one post, then it hit the other post, and then it went in! It was SCANDALOUS!

XA: That for me was a double dose of relief, because if we had let them go through on that error with the penalty kick…well… I would have carried that burden for the rest of my career.

PR: I’ve known Iker for a long time, and I think the month and a half that we were in the World Cup training camp was very possibly the calmest and most introverted I’d ever seen him. He’s developed such a tough protective shell, and his mental strength – it’s really admirable. And what with everything that was getting thrown his way, such as the thing with Sara, and all of that – you have to be so strong and so well-balanced to be able to handle everything he did.

***

Fernando Torres: The day of the Paraguay match, I already knew – or at least suspected – that I wasn’t going to be playing, based on the things I was seeing in the training sessions and the various lineups that were being talked about, but for me it was never a problem.

Juan Cota: We needed him to be playing at his best, but it was obvious that he wasn’t quite there yet.

FT: The knee kept getting worse, and we were spending more time on it than ever just trying to make it better… but I could see in all the training sessions that it just wasn’t working out.

DV: At a World Cup, a thousand cameras and spotlights are on you, and when you’re not prepared, it’s very difficult to compete. He made a great effort, truly… The vast majority of the goals that I’ve scored for Spain have been thanks to, among other things, his efforts.

FT: I knew that the most important thing was the team. I knew that I could be dropped at any moment, but that was never going to be a problem. I’d already made it there.

Posted on January 3, 2011, in campeones, team, videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Thank you again for the translation! This was a great show! My love for this team just keeps growing.

  2. Naughty Sergio… me gusta! (That Sergio .gif is killing me.)

  3. Thank you girls, for this!

    Those gifs remind me of a sort of boarding school atmosphere, complete with some light bullying. Haha.

    That Paraguay match really something else. I think that match and the Germany match were the most stressful for me, even more so than the final. I watched that match live, and it was nerve-wracking and the most dramatic of their matches, what with Iker’s save, Xabi’s missed penalties, and the way that goal was scored. It felt like I wasn’t breathing the entire match. You can see my post about it here, and feel free to comment:

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com/2010/07/05/the-longest-109-minutes-of-my-life/

  4. *lol* those lil cheaters…. THANX GIRLS!!!!

  5. Thanks so much for all the translations!!!!!

    As a Nando fan, this breaks my heart that he couldn’t play to the level he wanted in the World Cup:
    “FT: The knee kept getting worse, and we were spending more time on it than ever just trying to make it better… but I could see in all the training sessions that it just wasn’t working out.”

    • All the bits about Fernando’s knee had Jen and me freaking out as we went through them. He put himself through some CRAZY stuff in order to be able to play. Could have ruined his knee for good! And after all that, he still couldn’t get it to function properly during the tournament itself. Was it worth all of that in the end? Well he claims it was, but I don’t know that I would — could — have done the same. I mean, what’s the long-term cost to his joint, and to his sporting career? But then again, how many World Cups will he ever play in? and win?! It’s a tough call. I guess some people’s goals are just a little more demanding than others’…

  6. This game almost gave me a heart attack (different from the final) with the Cardozo penalty, the penalty Xabi got but then taken away, the penalty Xabi missed, the penalty we did not get, then Pedro striking the goal post, then Villa striking the goal post, first the right and then the left… At least this time the goal posts were kind to Villa!

    Thanks so much for the translation! So great to see the players’ perspectives on the games.

  7. Thank you so much for this! It’s so great to read about everything. I loved reading how Cesc kept saying everything was a goal XD.

  8. Thanks so much for translating these.

  9. I have always said it, but Jesus Navas is indeed a good luck charm.

  10. “XH: Iker just has it, doesn’t he? I’m not sure if it’s luck, or the ability to keep a cool head, but we always have the security of knowing that, hey, we’ve still got Iker.” yay Xavi for being nice this time.

    I still remember that Paraguay vs. Spain match, I had a whole bunch of friends over for that match despite it being just after the Argentina vs. Germany one which left me in tears. Spain was the only other team I cheered for besides Argentina, and I was just so desperate for them to win! Xabi having to retake the penalty nearly gave me a heart attack, I remembered thinking oh Cesc..=( and then Villa’s goal was just scandalous, that was definitely fated to happen.

    • Not to flog a dead horse (because I’ll admit I flogged this one pretty hard on FRM), but Xavi wasn’t “nice this time” — this is pretty much exactly the same thing he said on the GQ interview (I watched that too). Xavi and Iker have been friends for years, and it’s not like he changes his opinion about Iker from day to day.

  11. Thank youuuuuu. Wow, reliving that Cardozo penalty makes me as nervous as I was during the actual match… I remember jumping off the couch when Xabi scored then being so upset. THANKFULLY it ended well!!!

    Also, I LOVE the part about bingo. I wonder which one of them came up with that scheme…

  12. These posts are making me wish that I could watch the games over again. I have never paid a lot of attention to Pepe Reina before – he is a star! Love the gifs of him running over to Iker, and David Villa rolling around on the ground before everyone jumps on him. (I always wonder if someone is going to get hurt during those scrums.)

  13. *sigh* It’s always great to hear this stuff straight from the players themselves- Una, you are a hero for taking all the time and trouble to share this with us. Thank you so much.

  14. And also, it warms my heart to know that El Niño’s teammates and coach are so supportive of him- he had such a tough time last year, I hope and pray that he returns to the deadly form he had in his early Liverpool days, soon.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Informe Robinson: Campeones del Mundo – the translation, part IV « con la roja -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

