“A” for Álvaro and adorable

I mentioned Álvaro del Bosque’s epilogue to the book La Futbolería here (item four), but here is the text, in his extremely neat handwriting!  It says:

I’m Álvaro, my father is Vicente del Bosque, Spain’s national team coach, I think he is the best in Spain because he won the World Cup, but for me he’s also the best in everything.  He’s very good to me, and loves me a lot, and I him.  I like football a lot, I play for a team of children with problems and my father always comes to see us and I score many goals.

I like Raúl a lot, but my father didn’t heed me and didn’t call him up.  I also like Xavi, Casillas, Xabi Alonso, Ramos and Güiza, whom papa didn’t call up even though I wanted him on the national team.

I want to be a coach like my father but mama tells me that I can’t and that I have to study a lot to work in an office.

Posted on December 10, 2010, in players and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Oh my God. Adorable is by far not enough! This letter just makes me tear up. And Álvaro definitely has a great taste, since I also love football and Raúl, Xavi, Iker, Xabi, Sergio & Güiza!
    I’m confident he’s gonna do everything in order to achieve all his aims. Go for gold, Del Bosque Jr.!

  2. This is so cute! His handwriting is so excellent and his letter just makes me want to give him a hug! So sweet.

  3. I want to be a coach like my father but mama tells me that I can’t and that I have to study a lot to work in an office.

    AWWW. i wished his mother didnt say that, but instead encouraged him more :(

  4. Awwwwwwww! What a great epilogue – and he’s endeared himself to me forever with those comments about Raul!! :D

  5. aaawww, this is soooooo sweet.one can really tell how much he adores and respects his father and vice versa. <333

    thank you so much for posting this by the way! absolutely made my day! :)

  6. Omg…how sweet! The last bit about wanting to become a coach made me tear up. He’s so sweet! I want to hug him…I may have teared up a little :P

  7. I like Raúl a lot, but my father didn’t pay heed to me and didn’t call him up.

    Oh my heart.

  8. Love this. Alvaro, reach for your dreams!

  9. Awwww, what a darling kid! :3

  10. Oh lord, I just read this and I actually cried. It is so moving.

  11. my favourite part of the pepe reina show during the celebrations in madrid when spain won the copa — no doubt, alvaro del bosque and xavi chilling in the background of the stage. i’ve worked for years with people w/ developmental delays and i applaud the del bosque’s for accepting alvaro like they would any of their kids.. it’s heartbreaking to know how many people are hidden away by their families because of developmental delays.

  12. Judging what Alvaro wrote, VDB is an amazing father…. praises to you Sir.

    Thank u Una for posting this and for this site. It brings out millions of joy for an avid fan like me :)

  1. Pingback: the advent calendar wrap-up post « con la roja

Leave a Reply

