Andresito looks back at the World Cup final

Cuatro had a video from a couple of days ago, where they made Andrés Iniesta look at World Cup final footage to gauge his reaction.

From reading this blog, have you learned enough Spanish to make out what he’s saying?  If you don’t know Spanish, Andresito is not the best person to start off listening too, because he mumbles a bit.  Keep reading for a translation if you need it!

UPDATED with more reflections from Andrés on the World Cup and after, including talk about The Swimsuit; thanks to reader Montse for the tip!

– I think with the passing of time, we all realize what we achieved in that moment.

– when I got control of the ball, I already had the impression that it would end up as a goal, perhaps because that was the destiny.

– when I kicked the ball, well, I don’t know, you don’t hear anything, you just hear yourself yell, and then later when your teammates arrive.

– once the ball went it, in the celebration the only thing I was thinking about was that the little time left would pass quickly so that we could become champions.

–  it was a dream that we all had, a unique opportunity that life gave to us, it’s impossible to get used to it, to something like that, but we had the luck of being there at the right time.

– when the final whistle was blown, I threw myself on the ground, and I began to cry, not only for the moment, but for the bad moments that I had.

– in that moment, you break down.  I remember that in that moment Víctor Valdés came up to me, and he started crying when he saw me crying.

– it’s impossible to even think that you would score a goal in the final, in the overtime.

– I had a tribute [to Dani Jarque] in mind, and after we warmed up, I put on the shirt, and well, everything turned out perfectly.

– Juanma (Castaño) took charge of the narration, no?

– I’ve watched this moment [the goal] many times.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Thanks to reader Montse (¡gracias Montse!) for alerting me to these articles:

Andrés Iniesta talks about his World Cup winning goal.  In his own words:

Before the final began, I was thinking about how to pay tribute to Dani Jarque.  It wasn’t just this day though.  I had spent several days thinking about it.  When we arrived in the locker room, I saw Sergio and Navas putting on shirts remembering Puerta.  In those moments, Llorente came up to me.  He had also been with me and Dani in the U-19 team when we won the European championship.  Fernando told me, “you can do for Dani what you had been thinking about.”  And since I had it in mind from several days ago, I went up to a recuperator and told him, “put this on the shirt.”  While he was doing it, we went out on the field to warm up.  When I returned to the locker room, the shirt for Dani was done.  But I never thought we would win a World Cup with my goal in the 116th minute.  Back then, I was only thinking about one thing – winning the title, and when we were celebrating it, to take off my jersey so that I could remember Dani.  But you never, ever imagine that you would be the one scoring the goal!

I remember the play perfectly, not because I’ve watched it a lot of times afterward, which I have, but because I have it memorized.  From the beginning.  The ball started almost at the other goal, Sergio gave it to Navas, Navas ran down almost the entire right sideline pursued by four or five Dutch players.  Then the ball arrived at my feet, I backheeled it to Cesc and he returned it to Navas.  While Navas was passing it to Torres, who was at the other touchline, on the left, I went towards the center to do the first “desmarque.”  Torres tried to pass it to the center but the defense intercepted it and the rebound fell to Cesc.  My instincts told me to fall back a bit and Cesc gave me a marvelous pass.  I received it perfectly and only controlled it a bit.  When I was controlling it, I noticed a silence in the stadium.  It was strange, but I noticed it.  Is it possible to hear silence with almost 100,000 people present?  I heard it.  It seemed like the entire world had stopped, as if everyone had frozen.  After I controlled the ball, it bounced into the perfect position for me to shoot and I knew that it would go in.  Why?  I don’t know how to explain it, but I knew.  I waited a bit for it to come down and I shot.  While it was bouncing, I knew that I was going to shoot it “cruzada.”  I know, it’s difficult to understand.  But, in that moment, I knew that it would go in, even though Van der Vaart threw himself on the ground to prevent that from happening.  The shot didn’t go as “cruzado” as I wanted, but since I kicked it hard, the goalkeeper touched it but couldn’t stop it.  Then I started running and there was a moment when I looked back to see the linesman’s reaction, since I was quite alone in the area, but to tell you the truth [of course, Andrés has to say ‘si digo la verdad’ at some point here!!!] I didn’t see anything.

[sorry, it’s the weekend and my mind is taking a rest and I can’t come up with the English words for those football terms.  In Spanish, they have specific words for these terms but in English, it’s like an entire sentence.]

I did the same in Stamford Bridge, but with one difference.  In London, I held the Barça shirt in my right hand, and in South Africa I held the Spain shirt in my left hand.  When the game ended, I fell onto the ground.  Everyone came out running from the other side and Víctor Valdés came to find me.  I wanted to say something but I couldn’t get the words out.  I cried.  And then… touching the Cup!  It was brutal.  You see it up close and it gives you chills.  It’s also so pretty, so pretty!  I won’t keep the shirt, I’ll divide it amongst my friends.  I’ll only keep the boots.

And an interview

There was also an interview that goes with the recollection (including more pictures and a video, if you click the link).  Only national team parts are translated below, go read the original interview if you’re culé!

Q:  You’ve had a very special summer…

A:  Yes, it has been different because, whether you like it or not, you remember what happened last year, when I had a bad time due to my injury and other things, and clearly, this year I’ve been able to enjoy it immensely.

Q:  Do you find it strange being the target of the paparazzi and showing up in gossip magazines?

A:  It’s normal, it happened a bit after we won the Eurocopa and now with the World Cup and scoring the goal, there’s more interest.  I expected that.  What I didn’t know was that there were going to be some people that didn’t like my swimsuit, which I thought was really nice (laughs).  I didn’t think it would cause that much controversy.  If I had known, I would have worn a worse one the next day. Next year, I’ll be prepared.

Q:  You were also quite pale…

A:  And that too.  The photo was from the first day at the beach and I hadn’t gotten dark yet.  After that, I got a bit of color (laughs).

Q:  How do you deal with everything around you, the money, the fame, the admiration… is it difficult to stay yourself?

A:  No, not for me.  I’m one of those who believe that each person always shows what they’re like.  I have my own way of being.  It could be that I see it simply and from the outside it’s seen differently.  Football is my life, and then I have my girlfriend, my family, people who are close to me and nothing more [what an order of priorities!!!].  I’m so happy to be able to live in this privileged situation but I know how to value it.  Sometimes, when you’re on top, with the money, the cars, the fame… all of these things make you lose your head but I feel the same as always.  I have a very normal life and I think people are grateful for that.

Q:  What would you be without football?

A:  I don’t know.  I suppose I would have studied something to make a living, but football is my life.  Football changes everything.  When you’re on the field, that’s the only thing you think about, how to enjoy it, you forget about everything for a while, that’s the medicine that sometimes you need.  I think it’s a gift to be able to go out on the field and see it full of people, to have the opportunity to play football.  I don’t feel pressure, I come out to have a good time.  It’s the same as when I was a kid.  This is a game, a serious game, and some (football) games are more important than others, but I don’t think you can play well if you don’t enjoy it.

Q:  Those days of trips from Fuentealbilla to Albacete with your father, hurrying out from school with a sandwich in hand, are far behind.  As are those times at La Masía at the age of 13.  You had a hard time but it gave you hope.

A:  Yes, when I came here I knew what I wanted.  I’m a very disciplined person, I know what I have to do.  I came here to train, to study and to become a footballer.  There were of course some hard moments.  But it was worth it, since you have to suffer to get somewhere.  “La verdad es que” football gave me a lot, and of course, Barça.  I am what I am thanks to Barça, it has given my family and me everything.

Wow, Andrés is tan here!!!

Posted on September 5, 2010, in interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Yeah, um, Iniesta is not for the Spanish 101 crowd. “Expresivo” is false advertising, Mr. Journalist dude! I think his Crackovia imitator actually has more vocal ups-and-downs than the real Andrew!

    It’s really sweet, though, and especially how he talks about the Dani Jarque tribute – “todo salió perfecto.”

  2. nice to see he got a tan :)

  3. I love this man so so much I can’t even express it. Now he is a genuine national treasure.

    Thanks for posting this, it’s going in my favourites.

  4. still waters run deep. I bet he is very passionate in private.

  5. I think to shoot ‘cruzado” is just to go across your body; in this case from the right foot to the left side of the ‘keeper. In English, we’d probably just say “I knew I was going to shoot to the keeper’s right” although that loses the info the he shot with his right foot.

  6. oh, and “desmarque”: marca can mean either to score a goal or to cover a man. So desmarque (des-marca) is a run you make to lose your defender.

    I will try and post on my blog again about the author Mihály Csíkszentmihályi and what he says about “Flow” in sport. How a moment can slow down in time for a good athlete, and how sound can disappear. A lot that Andres says here matches with what Csíkszentmihályi says about moments of peak performance. It’s unreal and at the same time, the most real thing you can ever experience.

    I love how he talks about waiting for the ball to drop; so many players can’t resist and hit it too soon, when it’s above the knee and it skies over the crossbar. For Iniesta to know to wait, that he had time before Van Der Vaart could reach him, and that the keeper couldn’t cover the space, makes all the difference.

    I love this interview. Thanks, lamadridista. And Montse, for translating for everyone.

  7. gracias chicas. These interviews are great. ok jim plug your blog, you have got me salivating for more. (tactics nerd that I am).

  8. Blitzen,zztop and Elisa, why don’t u just click jim’s name and tadaa.. his blog.. or hers.

  9. I have just been watching the WC final goal and I have to report that Andresito is wrong! It wasn’t Sergio who passed the ball to Navas, it was Puyol. I’m sure I’m the only one who cares, but I felt the need to mention it. :)

    Also, I haven’t been a huge Navas fan up to now, but he was SO important for that goal, it was truly a beautiful thing:

    Puyol-Navas-Iniesta-Fabregas-Navas-Torres-Fabregas-Iniesta-GOAL!!!!

    Fabulous!

  10. OK – it’s up. I tweaked the translation a little but not so anyone would notice.

  1. Pingback: Iniesta felt it. Donovan felt it. | Jim's a keeper

Leave a Reply

