pelota al suelo – Andrés Iniesta

Today’s “Pelota al suelo” features Andrés Iniesta, the real one.  Which is unfortunate because I would have loved to see his Crackòvia alter ego do the interview – la verdad que sí…

1. What is the first World Cup that you remember?

The one in the United States.  It was perhaps one of the best ones that I’ve seen and the one I liked the most.

2. An unforgettable goal in the World Cup.

Continuing along those lines, probably the penalty that Roberto Baggio of Italy missed, in this case not a goal.

3.  Which national team shirt is the prettiest one?

I like this year’s shirt a lot.

4.  Which national team game do you remember the best?

Also from the 1994 World Cup, the game against Korea, I think it ended 2-2, if I remember correctly.  That’s the first game that I remember.

5. Where did you watch the 2006 World Cup in Germany?

(Laughs) Well I was there… our games obviously from the field, and the other games on TV, following the World Cup until we returned.

6. The World Cup final that you got the most excited about?

The Italy-Brazil game [in 1994], the Brazil-Germany game in the 2002 Korean World Cup…

7. Why has Spain never won a World Cup?

I suppose that Spain has never won a World Cup for various reasons… the first one being that it’s very difficult, there aren’t a lot of teams that have done that.  Spain has always had good teams, but could never achieve making that extra step to get to the final.

8. Which rival in the first round is the most difficult one?

Football is difficult, no matter who the opponent is.  All three of the rivals are the same to me, because I believe that’s how we have to view them.  If we’re going to make it to the next round, we have to play at 100% and not focus too much on the rivals.

9. What is the most boring thing about a World Cup?

The training camp, trying to make it as bearable as possible, but it’s true that during a World Cup, the time passes by quickly, because there is a game every two to three days, we watch the games of the other teams.  The most boring part is probably the time before the World Cup, when you’re just waiting for it to arrive and it takes a long time.  But once you’re there, everything goes by quickly.

10.  Which teammate do you spend the most time with?

Well, at the table, usually there are the ones from here [he means Barcelona], plus Cesc, Silva… I don’t know.  The truth is that the team is made up of good people, who have spent a lot of time together starting from the youth teams and the truth is that I get along with everyone.

11. What will you bring in your suitcase?

I suppose I will pack a computer, a book, movies, TV series.

12. How many pairs of boots will you bring?

Well… we will bring probably four or five pairs.  I usually play with rubber studs but I’ll bring some of aluminum just in case.  I think four or five pairs will be more than enough.

13. Which teammate is the most unbearable one?

No, there isn’t anyone who is unbearable.  (Laughs).  I think each one brings his own way of viewing things.

14. Who will be the star of the World Cup?

I don’t know, it’s always a surprise but I would like it to be someone from the Spanish team.

Posted on August 21, 2010, in interviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. These are great!..are you allowed to say how many are left and what guys are next..no…lol..thanks for posting these interviews!

    • As I said in the first post of the series, there were only 12 of these done. I’m doing them in alphabetical order, just because it’s how I ordered the files on my hard drive!

  2. oh yeah…i almost forgot…well awesome anyway!

  3. “Who will be the star of the World Cup?

    I don’t know, it’s always a surprise but I would like it to be someone from the Spanish team.”

    Funny, that. Considering -he- was the one who scored the Cup-winning goal, and all. :D!
    [Although I’d say the actual star, in my opinion, is Diego Forlan.]

  4. ummm alphabetically…can’t hardly wait for Xavi’s
    thanks for all the posts…really love your blog :-)

  5. “unfortunate because I would have loved to see his Crackòvia alter ego do the interview” THIS!!! LOLOLOLOL!!!!

  6. Oh, Andrew. I watch so much Crackovia that it always suprises me when he doesn’t say “la verdad es que sí” every other sentence… but when I do see/hear real Iniesta, I’m astonished by how similar the imitator manages to be. Andrés does almost all the work for him!

  7. #10 he says “la verdad es” . . .TWICE. La verdad es, claro que si . . .si lo se, no meto el gol! I love how he fidgets against the goal post while talking!

Leave a Reply

