making the most out of the trip

After the game on Saturday, several of the boys enjoyed themselves at the Roxy club in Providence.  Borja Valero, Álvaro Negredo, Andoni Iraola, Manu del Moral, David Villa, Fernando Llorente, Pepe Reina, Pedro Rodríguez, David Silva, Bruno Soriano, Dr. Celada, and fisios Fernando Galán and Raúl Martínez were all spotted at the club.  The pictures posted by Roxy on their Facebook are (perhaps inadvertently) funny to me, some for the outfits (it’s great to see the boys in normal clothes) and others for the posing, and you know I always have a lot to say about those things, so…

I wonder if this girl asked Álvaro for permission before she sat down on his lap?  Or does he allow all the fans to sit like that?  Note to self… Meanwhile, you might be thinking that Manu was dressed a bit like David Villa going to Disneyland…

… until you see this picture and realize that he rolled his jeans up.  To his knees.  Giving him the appearance of wearing cuffed denim shorts.  Which you all know I hate, since the boys of La Roja (David, Pedro, Iker) have all been fashion victims of that article of clothing.  Anyway, he looked pretty good when the jeans were jeans, as did the rest of the boys.  I do like David’s shirt, but I can’t deal with the deliberate bleach stains on the jeans.  I love Fernando’s leather jacket, Andoni’s use of color and Pepe’s tight shirt.

But what I absolutely love is Dr. Celada’s sky blue pants!  He manages to pull them off, which is no easy feat (Sergio has tried something similar before).  I can’t imagine anyone in the club wearing something like that.  It’s very preppy no?  Appropriate for New England… and I like how Raúl is color-coordinated!  La Roja is really something else – even the staff is super stylish!  Moving on, do you think Pedro purchased that shirt (it’s A&F) during this trip?  It’s great that he decided to try out his dance moves (with cubata in hand of course)!  And of course, Pepe was the life of the party.

Vintage Pepe Reina.  David Villa is so lucky to have Pepe as a best friend.  And I’m very curious to see if he can do something akin to “Camarero” in English.

I wonder how many of these people who happily posed with the players could actually identify them individually?  After all, some of these boys are a lot less well-known, especially compared to their teammates, and this is the U.S. we’re talking about (no offense to my wonderful readers who can, of course).  I saw a video where a Spanish reporter walked around Providence with pictures of the players, asking random people if they could identify them.  Most of them were like no, who’s that, I like baseball… but some Hispanic persons were like Iniesta, Llorente, are you kidding me, that’s of course Casillas.

Why was Fernando all zipped up?  Judging by the guy on the right, it was hot in there.

Bruno got to pose with the dancers (or is it the other way around), while Fernando finally removed the jacket, and found himself the center of attention.  Okay, I don’t know if there’s actually a connection between the two, but it wouldn’t surprise me.  Maybe some fans recognized him from the tight t-shirt he was wearing, because it’s just like his jersey (without the ripped part, of course).  All we need is Álvaro Arbeloa to come up and draw the star for us…

I love that the waiters got David Villa to autograph their shirts!  I guess they didn’t care/know enough about the others to want their autographs.  And that these fans got David to pose like them, although it wouldn’t surprise me if it were David that convinced them.  I like Álvaro’s simple outfit, though I’m ignoring the matching Gucci belts he and Fer are wearing.

Meanwhile, these are my guesses as to what some of the rest of the boys were doing.

Piqué – cooing on the phone / cooing over videochat with Shakira

Iker – the same, just with Sara

Xabi – looking classy while asleep

Busquets – sleeping

Zipi and Zape – playing video games

Joan and Santi – making bad jokes

Marchena – reading in his room

Iniesta – watching TV in his room (probably with Valdés)

Sergio – trying on his new clothes and wondering what time the mall opens tomorrow so he can get that pair of orange jeans he saw before the team leaves town

Torres – giving Sergio opinions on the clothing

Posted on June 7, 2011, in players and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 49 Comments.

  1. “Sergio – trying on his new clothes and wondering what time the mall opens tomorrow so he can get that pair of orange jeans he saw before the team leaves town

    Torres – giving Sergio opinions on the clothing”

    OMG! hilarious!

    • and it’s so easy to picture this scenario!!! Too funny:-)

    • YES, this is EXACTLY how I picture it too! Only Fern would make a doubtful face and ask “do you really want to wear that?” And Sergio would wear the orange pants anyway.

      LOL at Una’s description of La Roja’s relative unknown-ness until the reporter starts asking Hispanic people about the players, too :D.

  2. “Sergio – trying on his new clothes and wondering what time the mall opens tomorrow so he can get that pair of orange jeans he saw before the team leaves town

    Torres – giving Sergio opinions on the clothing ”

    U r the best Una! That’s too funny…thanks

  3. What made me laugh out even more boisterously was me thinking if these girls knew who they were then followed by reading what you typed, which was exactly what I was thinking!!:) I’m very jealous right now! huhuhuhu!!! I would probably have freaked if I were there!

  4. Una, I am surprised that you missed it, beacause you always notice these things, but Silva is in the background of the photo with Bruno. So he was also there.

    • That was my fifth post of the day, so don’t I deserve a break?

    • good spot! i was wondering where silva was. i kinda worry about him whenever i see him with man city, he seems so shy and he almost always seems to be doing his own thing.. i hope he has more friends than it appears.

  5. Haha! I think yhe ones that stayed behind did more interesting things. I would love picture of sergio y torres! That would be so hilarious!

  6. Unamadridistafan

    “Zipi and Zape – playing video games
    Joan and Santi – making bad jokes
    Sergio – trying on his new clothes and wondering what time the mall opens tomorrow so he can get that pair of orange jeans he saw before the team leaves town
    Torres – giving Sergio opinions on the clothing”.
    Hahahahhahahahah this had me laughing so loud, my dad thought i was crazy!!

  7. Wow… total abstinence or going crazy? and what about never playing friendlies? ;) Did Del Bosque allow them to spend their time before the game like that? will it affect their performance? ;)
    And as all the boys are married or committed, I wonder what their WAGs thought… if they knew they would be jealous :)

    Manu’s jeans are a fashion atrocity, but his legs are too delicious…mmmm, sexy and suntanned… however you’re right, rolling the jeans up can only be the right thing to do when you’re on the beach and standing in the water and wet sand :)

    Santi and Joan might be making bad jokes, but I prefer to think Joanet was sleeping at the moment… sin camiseta, for sure… and looking extremely sweet and sexy ;)

    • Oh, sorry!… it was in the US on Saturday, not in Venezuela last night… then it’s OK :) but anyway, if I were one of the WAGs, I would still be jealous ;)

  8. Too funny on what the other boys might be doing!!! I literally laughed out loud at all of them! They are so accurate though! Xabi is always classy, sleeping or not! But the Pique and Ramos and Torres are the funniest!! Who knows? Maybe Sergio was also giving Torres some hair-tips! (We know how much he needs them ;) )

  9. I love the last part about Sergio and Torres! It’s so funny because it’s probably true! Does he not have a pair orange pants yet? Well, I’ll be… :D

  10. Wth!!! I was totally in Providence last weekend!!!! I was a week too early! Just my luck…glad to see they had fun, tho! :)

  11. According to someone posting on Kickette, she saw Xabi and Arbeloa at the W Hotel in Boston. Which makes me think Albiol was also probably there, as well as Sergio. She also saw Torres there but not with others from La Roja. I guess the guys split up in regards to which clubs to go to in the states? I wonder how they decided who would go to Boston and who would go back to Providence then… Boston is definitely not a cab ride away :), nor is either from Foxboro. I’m picturing the bus driver shuttling the boys around.

    I’m laughing at Sergio and Torres going shopping together.

  12. AHAHAHAH these are too awkward. this looks like a pretty weird club. it’s so empty…

  13. OMG your guesses. Hahahahahaha!
    Girl, you’re the best!

  14. Hilarious. Glad the boys got to have some fun in the States. I know that VDB made them train for 30 minutes again(!) after the game. Negredo looks like he was having a blast. LOL. Villa loves everyone, que guapo.

  15. I’m glad to know those girls were the “dancers” because … I was about to think something else…

    And I wonder the same thing … Do those people even know who they were … Because … football or has it known here soccer is not popular… soo they probably don’t know … but maybe Pepe Reina while he was being a DJ … said something about them being part of the Spanish NT …And whats up with that chick sitting on him … thank God Xavi … is not with them … And I wonder what the wives/girlfriends think about that …. Becuase … I’m sorry… But I don’t trust some women(ppl) here in the USA … they find out somebody got money & they will say or do anything to get their 15 mins of fame…. You can’t go a year with out some celeb or athlete having problems with a “fan” ….

    As for what the other guys were doing totally agree!!!! :)

    THANX UNA!!!

    • Oh you mean unlike England, Ange? Where crying rape has become a cottage industry. Maybe they weren’t the hottest the states have to offer, but you can’t accuse them of being gold diggers…besides which…I’m sure their wives and gf’s are laughing their asses off. Wouldn’t you be?

    • I actually think the pics all look rather innocent. The girls are just dressed for a club (not necessarily my choice of attire, but not something I don’t see every day on young women in NYC) and the players don’t look creepy, drunk, or grabby. If one of them was my man I wouldn’t be angry or jealous. Even Bruno looks completely awkward wedged between those two tiny dancers. And some of the guys must be single, anyway.

      • Same here! They just look like standard Facebook party pics, hardly anything for anyone to get jealous about (and also, none of the players look particularly drunk).

  16. For shame… we do NOT have good clubs in New England. That was the best we could offer them? Surely they could have popped up to Boston for even a slightly better place? Maybe not though.. stinks that they brought a little bit of class to the Roxy and all our States could offer up were some terribly dressed club-goers and even worse looking gogo dancers!

    At least they appear to have made the most of it and I hope they had fun and come back again!

  17. “I saw a video where a Spanish reporter walked around Providence with pictures of the players, asking random people if they could identify them. Most of them were like no, who’s that, I like baseball… but some Hispanic persons were like Iniesta, Llorente, are you kidding me, that’s of course Casillas.”

    Sadly, Una, this does not surprise me at all. The largest draw at most matches I’ve been to are Hispanic. At least there are a lot of Hispanics that live in my area so I have someone I can talk to about soccer. :p

    Even the parents of the girls on my daughter’s HS soccer team (who have played club soccer for years) would sit in the stands and talk about hockey or any other sport besides soccer. I’d mention someone from professional football (soccer) and they had no idea who I was talking about. Pfft…even my sister doesn’t know who Cristiano Ronaldo is.

    Pepe always seem to be the lift of the party. How fun would it be to have this guy on your team?!

    lol @ your guesses to what the others are doing. I think you’ve nailed it!

  18. Is there no other, better quality club in Providence? sorry guys!!!

  19. OMG Pepe is just a moving party, isn’t he? And the girls in these pictures…I’m embarrassed for my countrywomen! But at least we all know that sitting on Negredo’s lap is A-OK! ;p

  20. Yikes, I get a little second hand embarrassment from looking at these photos! Some of the guys definitely looked a bit uncomfortable, hahaha. One more thing, I haven’t gone clubbing in many years, but is that the dress code for ladies nowadays? Then I’m glad I’ve been staying home all these years.

  21. you know where they should have been? my house. on the beach baby.

  22. Haha, your guesses are funny! And I guess Zipi and Zape are always roommates! (They don’t have rooms for every single person right? Every two share one room?)

  23. Is it safe to say that there were a lot of grenades at this club?…lol okay im just hating cause i wish i was there. I kinda hope rm does the same here in san diego ;)

  24. Oh my the women at the club, I have no words, LOL.

    But seriously I am jealous, I want a picture with Fer.

    As for the rest of the guys, All of them are pretty spot on Una. I can see Sergio contemplating on whether to buy the orange pants or not and Torres telling him to go for it.

    As for Xabi, he was probably watching the DVDs he bought at the mall. But whatever he was doing, I bet he was classy all the way.

  25. coffeesunshine

    Anyone thinks that Manu looks like Brad Pitt(when he was young)?

    “Sergio – trying on his new clothes and wondering what time the mall opens tomorrow so he can get that pair of orange jeans he saw before the team leaves town

    Torres – giving Sergio opinions on the clothing”

    lol, I love this one!

  26. I love your guesses! I wouldn’t be surprised if you were 100% spot on.

  27. “Why was Fernando all zipped up?” Haha, in some photos it looks as if he was exactly the opposite, I don’t know if his fly was open or if there is a weird nude-coloured patch right in the middle of those jeans, but that definitely caught my eye…

  28. the comment about manu looking a bit like young brad pitt is so true.

    anyway, it looks like summer vacations have already started for the boys. i don’t understand why they call it ”work”.

  29. This just made my day imagining what the others were doing….I am hysterical laughing especially:

    Sergio – trying on his new clothes and wondering what time the mall opens tomorrow so he can get that pair of orange jeans he saw before the team leaves town
    Torres – giving Sergio opinions on the clothing

    I love it thank you!

  30. AMAZING. I LOLd a few times, especially at the Sergio and Nando comments :)

  31. Michelle De Vincenzo

    Torres was actually at the W Hotel in the theatre district of Boston! My friends and I caught sight of him! He was in jeans and a baggy grey sweatshirt! Still looking mighty fine!

  32. Zipi and Zape!!! Jajajaja! I was calling them Epi y Blas, but this deffo made me laugh!

  33. The dancers definitely asked Bruno for a pic. LOL. You can tell because he doesnt have his arms around them and looks so awkward.

  34. who is Zipi and Zape

  35. omg fernando is just so damn sexy!! and he is coming to the US again i so hope to meet him, lmao i do believe we’re meant to be togeth (i know creepy) but i can still fantasias! but i think u should have more posts about him cause look at him who wouldnt want a peace of that ass

  36. I want to see that video so badly! Does anyone know where it is?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers

