a giant Q&A – part iii

Spanish news agency EFE, like others before them, has been publishing a series of questions with our players.  They’ve released 12 of them so far, up to yesterday, so I think that’s all that we’re going to see.

Some of the questions are the same, and some are different, and not everyone was asked the same questions.  I’ve divided my translation of the Q&A into three sections to make it easier to read.

Please, if you take this from my site and post it elsewhere, include the source!  I’ve noticed my translations of the El País Q&A popping up in a lot of places without citation.

This is the third section, which consists of sports- and football-related questions.  Favorite answers highlighted in pink!

Part one and be found here, while part two is here.

23.  A sport and an athlete.

Busquets:  Basketball and Juan Carlos Navarro.

Pedro:  Tennis and Rafa Nadal.

Llorente:  Tennis and Rafa Nadal.

Villa:  Tennis and Rafa Nadal.

Capdevila:  Tennis and Rafa Nadal.  He’s a crack.

Arbeloa:  Besides football, I love basketball and tennis.  So, Pau Gasol and Rafa Nadal.

Navas:  Rafa Nadal, for his work ethic, his desire to win and keep winning.  I’ve always had that impression of him.

Mata:  I’ll say two, tennis and basketball.  Roger Federer and Michael Jordan.

Torres:  Tennis and Rafa Nadal.

Albiol:  Better two of each: Formula 1 with Fernando Alonso and tennis with Rafa Nadal.

Sergio:  Tennis and Rafa Nadal.

24.  What was the first football jersey you received as a gift?

Busquets:  They put me in a Barça kit when I was just a baby.

Pedro:  Barcelona’s.  I was always a fan of Barcelona for my brother, who was an even bigger fan than me.

Villa:  The national team’s.

Capdevila:  Either Mattaeus’ Germany one or Papin’s France one.  One of those two.  I can’t remember.

Arbeloa:  The national team’s.

Navas:  I don’t remember.

Reina:  Zubizarreta’s Barcelona shirt.

Mata:  One of Burgos, where my dad played.  I remember the photos of me as a baby on the field with the uniform of the team.

Torres:  It was from Atlético de Madrid, with the name Pantic on the back.

Albiol:  Van Basten’s Milan jersey.

Sergio:  Sevilla’s.

25. An unforgettable moment in your career.

Busquets:  The day I went to train with the first team and Guardiola told me I was going to play.

Pedro:  The debut with Barcelona.  It was very important, beautiful and special.  I will never forget it.  I always remember when Frank (Rijkaard) called me so that I could debut.

Llorente:  My debut with Athletic in San Mamés (against Espanyol, on Jan. 16, 2005).

Villa:  The goal against Sweden in the Eurocopa.

Capdevila:  My debut with Espanyol in San Mamés.

Arbeloa:  I think that’s still to come.  [Smart boy!]

Navas:  There are a lot, I can’t just say one.  The debuts with Sevilla and the national team, and also the titles I’ve won with Sevilla.

Reina:  I’ll give you two if you let me:  when we won the Eurocopa and the Champions League that I won with Liverpool in penalties.

Mata:  My debut with the national team and the Copa del Rey that I won with Valencia.

Torres:  The final of the Eurocopa in Vienna.

Albiol:  I think it’s still to come and it’s not far away.  What we’re going to go through on July 11 is going to something unforgettable in all our careers.

Sergio:  The day we won the Eurocopa in Vienna.

26. Your last/biggest splurge as a footballer.

Busquets:  My house.

Llorente:  A Porsche Panamera.

Villa:  An iPad to bring to South Africa.

Capdevila:  I bought myself a car, a BMW X5.

Arbeloa:  I splurge a lot, but if I could spend a lot on anything, it would be on vacations.

Navas:  I bought a Mercedes four years ago.

Reina:  A house.

Mata:  My apartment.

Torres:  Helping my siblings with whatever they need.

Albiol:  I don’t splurge a lot, but if I had to say something, it would be my car, a BMW X6.

Sergio:  The house that I live in with my entire family.

27.  If you weren’t a footballer, what would you be?

Llorente:  Something related with another sport or training.

Navas:  The truth is, I never thought about it, but I’m sure something related with sports.

Mata:  Something related to advertising or marketing.

Albiol:  A personal trainer.

Sergio:  Tennis player.  I love playing tennis.  [Not a bullfighter?  Or flamenco singer?]

28. Mourinho or Guardiola?

Busquets:  Guardiola, because he’s my coach, I know how he works, his methods and I debuted in the first division at his hands.

Arbeloa:  They’re both excellent coaches but I haven’t worked with either of them.  Obviously, right now I would choose Mourinho.

Albiol:  They’re both coaches that have demonstrated that they are the best in the world and I don’t know either personally, but I’ll say Mourinho.

29. Your first memory of a World Cup.

Busquets:  The 1998 World Cup when France won the title with Zidane, Thuram and Djorkaeff.  Spain did poorly.

Pedro:  I watched France ’98 on TV, Zidane scored two goals in the final.  I have a desire to live it from the inside.

Llorente:  Luis Enrique’s broken nose in the 1994 World Cup in the U.S.

Villa:  Unfortunately, it’s Tasotti’s elbow to Luis Enrique in the 1994 edition.

Capdevila:  Italy ’90.  The small, bald Italian forward that scored a lot, Toto Schilacci.

Arbeloa:  U.S. ’94.  Unfortunately we didn’t do too well.

Navas:  The Spain-Nigeria game in the 1998 World Cup, which we lost 2-3.  Those were difficult moments.

Reina:  The 1994 World Cup when Luis Enrique’s nose was broken and Italy eliminated us.

Mata:  The 1994 World Cup in the U.S., the elbow to Luis Enrique and Roberto Baggio’s missed penalty.

Torres:  I remember getting up with my brother at dawn to watch the 1994 World Cup in the U.S. for Spain’s first game, which they tied 2-2 with Korea.  That’s my first memory because in Italy ’90 I was only six, I’m sure I watched it but I don’t remember it.

Albiol:  The one in the U.S. in 1994, especially Sweden’s two forwards, Kenneth Andersson and Dalhin.

Sergio:  The elbow Luis Enrique received at the 1994 U.S. World Cup.

30. What will you do if you win the World Cup?

Busquets:  Anything that’s not too strange.  Shave my head, walk the Camino de Santiago.  Anything to be champions of the world.

Pedro:  Enjoy it with my friends, with my family and treat myself to a good trip.  If people go crazy, I’ll join in.

Llorente:  I would enjoy it a lot.  If I have to make a promise, it would be to do some extreme sport.  I would never do the typical things like shave my head.  I don’t like that.

Capdevila:  I’ll get a tattoo of the Cup.

Arbeloa:  During the Eurocopa, I said I would dye my hair red and yellow but I didn’t do it.  So now I’ll say I will spend an entire year without drinking Coke.

Navas:  I will be the happiest person in the world.  I don’t know what I’ll do.  Maybe cut my hair, do whatever, since it’ll be the best thing ever.

Villa:  I’ll first celebrate it at Colón with all my teammates and the Spanish fans.  I don’t promise to do anything crazy physically, such as shave my head or anything like that, I’m already grown up.  And I’ll also go all out celebrating it with my friends when I return to Asturias.

Reina:  First we have to win it because I don’t even want to start thinking about that now.

Mata:  Return to Spain with that guy that traveled by Vespa to South Africa.

Torres:  If we win, whatever you ask me to do.  [Interviewer: give me something that you promise to do, and don’t give me anything related to your look, since you’re used to changing it once in a while.]  You’re right (laughs).  Making promises related to hair is easy.  That wouldn’t be any problem and the occasion requires something bigger.  (Thinks) I know, if we win the World Cup, I’ll do the Camino de Santiago.  I’ll do it one day, just don’t ask me to do it as soon as we return to Spain because I want to rest and enjoy my vacation.

Albiol:  Learn English, something I need to do.

Sergio:  Get a tattoo of the World Cup.

31. A dream.

Llorente:  To win the World Cup.

Posted on July 11, 2010, in interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. Your lovely blog always eases my nerves on match day and makes me laugh but not this time. I’m just sooooooooooooo nervous, counting the hours and can’t think about anything else. A por ellos!

    • Me too! Oh my gosh I couldn’t sleep last night. I don’t even know if I will be able to watch the game because I’ll be so over-the-top anxious!!!

  2. “I’ll get a tattoo of the Cup.”

    Don’t do that!! That cup is pretty ugly.
    I thought Sergio wants to cut his hair?! I don’t know what would be more shocking.. haircut or world cup tattoo?!

  3. Yet another terrific collection of Q&A on what has become my (and many other people’s) mecca for SNT news during this World Cup–we are forever grateful to you for posting translations!! Now back to being nervous…only a few more hours..

  4. You are awesome! Thank you so much for all of these. Love their answers!!1

  5. OMG today is the day!!!!!! We can do it, and even if we don’t we will still be the best team ever. Please let this be the happiest day ever!!!!!!! Vamos España!!!!!!!

    Thanks for the translating. Does Sergio still live with his family? I can’t imagine him doing that being a womanizer and all. hehehe

  6. What exactly is a “crack”?

  7. Awww Sergio’s love for his family makes me smile all the time. And Villa is really a gadget fan! LOL

  8. thanks for posting it!
    I love reading this blog, I hope we will celebrate tonight, I have Cava prepared and I’m ready for big party! Thank you soo much for posting all news, gosspis and soo, it was pure pleasure to read and watch all things you posted, it was great world cup to follow, no matter how it will end tonight I’m happy, I’m proud of our boys. I’m glad I found your blog and that I could participate in this mundial.
    I also like the fact that no matter which club in Spain we support, we can unite in cheering national team. I’m Barca supporter, but during this world cup I really enjoyed all other players, including RM guys:) I know that after summer, when Liga will start, it will be different again, but right now I want to enjoy THE_BEST_IN_THE_WORLD national team! Thank you once again for all your work, time and passion you share with us. Hugs from Poland and last thing: Vamooooos Fuuuuriaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

  9. I CANT BELIEVE THIS IS COMING TO AN END! I WILL MISS URE POSTT SO MUCH!!! what are you going to do with this blog please tell me u will inform uss about their vacations and post worldcup activities!!!!!!!!

  10. woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    the coolest Sunday ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. I guess all the answers to question 30 are all gonna come true ’cause we just won!
    Viva La Furia Roja!

  12. this blog absolutely has to stay!!!!! you know, to track whether they kept their promises from the interviews and all that stuff, celebration news etc!

    thank you for all the translations, it has become my favourite places for news and I learned so much about the Spanish team, now WORLD CHAMPIONS!!!!!!!

    THANK YOU UNAMADRITISTA! you rock!!!!! I hope you’ll be having great celebrations!!!!!!

  13. question…is this blog contingent to the world cup or can I follow you forever? I love this blog (i’ve been visiting almost daily) and I’m afraid you’re gonna stop. Please don’t!!! If you absolutely have to, is there another blog like this you’d recommend.

    Also, does Sergio really still live at home with his family. I’m fully aware how creepy it is that I want to kknow but its so cute!

    Five stars to you!

    oh and SPAIN WON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. “Arbeloa: I think that’s still to come. [Smart boy!]”
    He has some of Paul’s power in in.

  15. Lovely interviews and translations, but I couldn’t help but wonder about Pepe’s answer to the best moment in his career (the Champions League that I won with Liverpool in penalties). It must be the FA cup or the CL semi-final, because Pepe hasn’t won the champions league, unfortunately.

    Congrats to Spain, they are certainly deserving of their World Cup!

    (also, I’d be curious to see the original Spanish interview, do you know where I could find it?)

  16. This is amazing. Thanks so much for all the excellent stuff you post.

  17. Nice post, I like it. Bravo for Spain for the 1st winner in World Cup 2010!

  18. Thank you very much for the translation! Very interesting read :) Would you mind if I post a link on Twitter?

  19. Uhm, Reina never won the champions league with Liverpool, not as first goalie. He did won the FA cup as first goalie though!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention a giant Q&A – part iii « vamos España -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: a giant Q&A – part ii « vamos España

  3. Pingback: a giant Q&A – part i « vamos España

  4. Pingback: where does the line form? « following Real Madrid…

  5. Pingback: lots more reasons to love this team « con la roja

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

