in case you missed it – Spain vs. Portugal, part I

Spain vs. Portugal – June 29, 2010.

(This “in case you missed it” is divided into two segments because there were a lot of stellar moments, and because I don’t want to overwhelm your Internet connection.  Update:  part II is here.)

Part I:  the affection.

The battle of Iberia was indeed an epic battle.  It had special meaning for me as a madridista, because I would get to see Iker, Sergio, Xabi, Arbeloa and Albiol face off against Pepe and Cristiano.  My favorite moments of the game, besides Villa’s goal, were those moments where I got to see the interactions between these club teammates.  Plus, there was a lot of great interaction between country teammates as well!

One. I loved seeing all the kisses and hugs before, during and after the game!  As a madridista, the ones I was most interested were the ones between Cris and Pepe and their starting Madrid teammates, Iker, Sergio and Xabi.  And they didn’t disappoint!  I loved that Pepe also hugged the rest of the Spanish players as well during the handshakes.  Oh, and Iker’s beard made a reappearance.

And then Cris and Iker exchanged another greeting as captains doing the coin toss, and Pepe hugged Villa again before the start of the game (I think they’re close because it was Villa who inadvertently caused Pepe’s season-ending injury, and felt bad about it even though it wasn’t his fault).  Meanwhile, Valdés was seen hugging ex-teammate Deco at halftime.  I heard the Spanish sports announcers also say that Piqué hugged his former Manchester United teammate Cristiano as they headed into the tunnel at halftime.

The most touching moment of the night occurred after the game when Eduardo cried, and both Pepe Reina and Iker went to comfort him.  Goalkeepers unite!  Sergio Ramos also gave Eduardo a hug.  Later, Eduardo would say, “Iker’s gesture meant a lot.  I’ve always admired him as a goalkeeper, as one of the best in the world, and now I admire him even more as a person.”

A ton more hugs, kisses and everything in between!

Portugal’s Pepe would also hug Iker and Sergio again after the game, as well as share some jokes.  Sergio really likes touching people’s hair!

Iker and Arbeloa also teamed up to share a laugh with Pepe.

And Arbeloa tried to comfort Cristiano as well, along with Cesc.

Also seen during the postgame celebrations:  Javi Martínez kissing the back of Geri Piqué.

Spain’s own celebrations were epic too, especially when Sergio and Iker got together!

They really looked like a piña out there (who else loved seeing Villa jump on absolutely EVERYONE?), but my favorite part was seeing the hug between the vertical odd couple Llorente and Xavi.  Xavi looks like a doll next to the Hulk!  A special mention goes out to Xabi, Puyol and Llorente, for not wearing anything under their shirts and for taking their shirts off!

And Juanma Castaño kissing David Villa while interviewing him after the game.  You know THAT’S what Sara wanted to do to Iker after the first game when she interviewed him.

Too bad Sergio Ramos didn’t score, because if he had, I’m sure he would have ripped off his shirt.  Unfortunately though, he was wearing another one underneath, which we got to see during the postgame interview.  It said, “Saul, mucho ánimo amigo” and “Sonia” (I couldn’t see what word preceded Sonia).

By the way, he and Juanma were both wearing the Balance Xtreme bracelets.

And Vicente del Bosque shows that he’s made of pure class, by going up to Carlos Queiroz (remember, that’s the man who replaced him on the Madrid bench seven years ago) to shake his hand.

Posted on July 3, 2010, in games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hugs, kisses – that’s what we like almost the most, beside goals:)
    They all are big friends and this is so beautiful… in the begining of Iker-Sergio video it looks like Iker wanted to kiss Sergio:)
    Thank you for report, you’re the best!

  2. I felt really bad when Eduardo cried at the end, especially since he did such a fantastic job defending! :( :(
    Loving the amount of love in this post, though. The Iker/Sergio hug killed me :D :D

    I want to tell you that you’re doing an excellent job with the blog! I read it every day and I check it at least three times a day for more updates. Thank you for posting!

  3. You are my favorite person online. I’m serious.

  4. I just found your blog, and I would just like to say that I’m in love with it. Thanks for keeping up updated!

  1. Pingback: in case you missed it – Cristiano vs. Spain « following Real Madrid…

  2. Pingback: in case you missed it – Spain vs. Portugal, part II « vamos España

Leave a comment